We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kensington Place
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
2Inn1 Kensington(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Rosmead(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alta Bay(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
More Quarters Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Cadogan(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lady Hamilton Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
336
26
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
26
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskloof streetboutique hotelour honeymoontable mountaindinner reservationscomplimentary bottle of winelovely boutiquesmall hotelprior to our arrivalfour nightsrestaurant bookingsthe entire staffbreakfast was amazingsuperior rooma short cab ridetop floorcamps bay
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2015

What a great hotel!! We stayed for 5 nights while exploring Cape Town for our first time. We found it quaint with amazing service. We looked forward to breakfast every day because it was better than most restaurants.

We enjoyed the location away from the typical tourist locations. We walked to dinner on Kloof street most nights and felt safe and had many restaurant/bar options. We are from San Francisco so food is important to us while traveling. We were really impressed with Cape Town restaurants. Our favorites were Pot Luck Club (hotel booked for us), Royale Eatery (casual hamburgers within hotel walking distance, Harbour House (great food and views at V&A waterfront), and II Leone (romantic Italian food).

We booked the standard room to save a little bit of money. The room was plenty large enough and the bathroom was luxurious (with heated floors!). The standard room had a nice balcony with good views but was closer to the main entrance so we found it a little noisy at times. This wasn’t a problem for us because we were up early and out late but if you spend a lot of your vacation relaxing in the room it might be better to pay the extra for the superior rooms.

I would recommend Kensington Place in a second and would love to return. Thanks Kensington Place for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank DoverX78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2015

One finds the Kensington Place tucked into a residential area, but only a short walk from restaurants and stores. The small hotel, perhaps, no more than 8 rooms provides a modern atmosphere with an incredibly high level of service. Our superior room with king sized bed, large desk area, and in floor heating offered an unusual bath set up with a sunken tub adjacent to a garden and a shower without walls. We were treated to a bottle of wine, wraps, and fruit upon arrival. The on-site lovely restaurant was our home for a full breakfast each of our three days of stay. In addition, we had one lunch and a dinner. How do they have such an extensive menu for so few guest? We will never know the answer. Full bar availability and wifi, throughout. Wonderful sitting area near an always going fireplace. The desk clerks double as managers, concierges, and all-around assistants for every need. We normally prefer somewhat larger hotels because of the many services they provide. There is nothing missing here.

Room Tip: Two Outdoor entry superior rooms are not handicapped accessible.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Allen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

Kensington Place is a lovely experience. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by Michael who, rather than swamp us with check in paperwork, welcomed us with a glass of bubbly by the open fire. Michael was so friendly, welcoming and helpful - he even managed to sort us out dinner at The Pot Luck Club which was a bonus. The rooms are lovely and we met some lovely people here.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015

This hotel is such a gem and we couldn't find fault with it.

The staff are very friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The location is great, as it's in a residential area, so K.P. feels like you are returning to your very own comfortable and luxurious home.

During our stay we talked to several couples, who were returning guests, and who told us that they wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Cape Town. We now second that, as we shall also only stay at K.P. on our next visits to this wonderful city.

Finally, whilst taking a taxi home (oops, to K.P.!) the driver said that he had driven several passengers over the years who were staying at K.P. who had travelled, and stayed, in 5 start hotels around the world but had said that K.P. was better than many of them. We have also been lucky enough to stay in some wonderful (and 5 star) hotels around the world and, we couldn't agree more with the taxi drivers previous passengers observations!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MrsBTow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

Beautiful boutique hotel with stunning views all around of table mountain, the city bowl and the sea. The property is incredible and immensely relaxing. The food is actually well beyond expectations - in fact the breakfast is some of the best we have ever tried which is surprising for a small hotel without a proper restaurant. Poolside relaxation is amazing with multiple beautiful seating areas. The neighbourhood is clearly high end, local and non touristy. Everything was perfect and we would return to this sanctuary any day!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank ReadyJetSetGo419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews