We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nära strandpromenaden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
Ranked #25 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

We can absolutely recommend this accommodation. We lived in an basic room with sea weiv. The hotel have a restaurant , bar and pool. Outside the “jump on and jump off buses” have a stop, so it was easy to see all parts of the Cape Town.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you for your kind words. I am very happy you enjoyed your time with us and that you had a memorable stay in Cape Town. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2017

Spent 3 nights in this great old style hotel. Food in Harveys Restaurant was really good and highly recommended. Too often I have stayed in the modern, clinical establishments, but this is old style with large rooms, great views of the sea and promenade. Service and staff very good and friendly. Breakfast was a huge spread of fresh food and well worth it. Wifi was a bit iffey, but cannot fault the rest. There is parking at the back for a limited number of cars, so best to book this in advance.

Room Tip: Sea side rooms obviously have a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Chas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you loved our newly refurbished bedrooms. Thank you for complimenting our breakfast buffet, our chefs take a lot of pride when preparing the meals. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Winchester Mansions very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We stayed at this hotel on the first night of our South Africa Holiday prior to joining a Garden Route tour. We were celebrating our anniversary and the hotel was very accommodating. The hotel has colonial feel and the buildings surround a central courtyard where we took breakfast.
Our evening meal was superb, one of the best we've ever had.

The only downside is that it's a little out of the centre of town, but that didn't spoil it for our purpose

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stu_denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you for rating our hotel and for your wonderful feedback regarding the hotel. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to kick start your South African holiday on a good note. We hope we get to welcome you back to the Winchester Mansions should you return to Cape Town in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

The Location is perfect. Accommodation is clean, fresh, modern and comfortable. Food is top notch and well-done to chefs and kitchen staff. Hotel staff are professional, friendly and efficient. Check in and check out procedure was quick and professional. The Hotel grounds, restaurants, corridors, breakfast room were all spotless. The whole experience was awesome. Definitely a property that i will highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 491michelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you so much for this amazing review and rating! We are all so proud to be a part of the Winchester Mansions and look forward to welcoming you back here in the very near future. Thank you for the recommendation, we really appreciate it. Keep Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

I have never in my life received such poor service and been treated so badly by a hotel! A real embarrassment to the Cape Town tourism market and to South Africa as a whole!

The room was old, dirty and had no external windows. The only way to see out was to open your curtains and look straight into a corridor where everybody can see you lying in bed!

Then, to try and make extra money, the hotel had rented the courtyard area (to which all rooms are attached) out as a function venue. Music was blaring at a ridiculous volume and when I tried to work (and later sleep) it felt like I was lying in a night club!

When I told the hotel staff that I wanted a refund and to leave to stay at a proper hotel, they were as rude as I have ever experienced and REFUSED to refund me!

A disgrace to SA hospitality. I would highly recommend staying elsewhere.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank DinoZuco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

We would like to firstly apologies to you regarding the noise levels of year end function we had going on when you had checked into the hotel. This is obviously a once off event (which finished at 21h00). We are very sorry you did not get to experience the Winchester Mansions and our hospitality. We have subsequently refunded your credit card. You may contact us directly should there are any issues regarding your refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
3.2 km away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,831 reviews
0.1 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
2.8 km away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#52 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,576 reviews
2.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,854 reviews
3.1 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: €131 - €367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing