We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$156
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$190
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Upperbloem(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The One 8 Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Commodore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,214)
Filter reviews
1,214 results
Traveller rating
725
341
85
36
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
725
341
85
36
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjazz brunchharvey's barsea pointcentral courtyardfree shuttlelovely courtyardsea viewbeach roadcolonial stylejunior suitecamps bayreception staffhotel shuttlehop on hop off bushotel restaurantshuttle servicebeautiful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 1,214 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Spent 3 nights in this great old style hotel. Food in Harveys Restaurant was really good and highly recommended. Too often I have stayed in the modern, clinical establishments, but this is old style with large rooms, great views of the sea and promenade. Service and staff very good and friendly. Breakfast was a huge spread of fresh food and well worth it. Wifi was a bit iffey, but cannot fault the rest. There is parking at the back for a limited number of cars, so best to book this in advance.

Room Tip: Sea side rooms obviously have a nicer view
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Chas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you loved our newly refurbished bedrooms. Thank you for complimenting our breakfast buffet, our chefs take a lot of pride when preparing the meals. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Winchester Mansions very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We stayed at this hotel on the first night of our South Africa Holiday prior to joining a Garden Route tour. We were celebrating our anniversary and the hotel was very accommodating. The hotel has colonial feel and the buildings surround a central courtyard where we took breakfast.
Our evening meal was superb, one of the best we've ever had.

The only downside is that it's a little out of the centre of town, but that didn't spoil it for our purpose

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stu_denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you for rating our hotel and for your wonderful feedback regarding the hotel. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to kick start your South African holiday on a good note. We hope we get to welcome you back to the Winchester Mansions should you return to Cape Town in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

The Location is perfect. Accommodation is clean, fresh, modern and comfortable. Food is top notch and well-done to chefs and kitchen staff. Hotel staff are professional, friendly and efficient. Check in and check out procedure was quick and professional. The Hotel grounds, restaurants, corridors, breakfast room were all spotless. The whole experience was awesome. Definitely a property that i will highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 491michelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you so much for this amazing review and rating! We are all so proud to be a part of the Winchester Mansions and look forward to welcoming you back here in the very near future. Thank you for the recommendation, we really appreciate it. Keep Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

I have never in my life received such poor service and been treated so badly by a hotel! A real embarrassment to the Cape Town tourism market and to South Africa as a whole!

The room was old, dirty and had no external windows. The only way to see out was to open your curtains and look straight into a corridor where everybody can see you lying in bed!

Then, to try and make extra money, the hotel had rented the courtyard area (to which all rooms are attached) out as a function venue. Music was blaring at a ridiculous volume and when I tried to work (and later sleep) it felt like I was lying in a night club!

When I told the hotel staff that I wanted a refund and to leave to stay at a proper hotel, they were as rude as I have ever experienced and REFUSED to refund me!

A disgrace to SA hospitality. I would highly recommend staying elsewhere.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank DinoZuco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

We would like to firstly apologies to you regarding the noise levels of year end function we had going on when you had checked into the hotel. This is obviously a once off event (which finished at 21h00). We are very sorry you did not get to experience the Winchester Mansions and our hospitality. We have subsequently refunded your credit card. You may contact us directly should there are any issues regarding your refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Arrived at hotel circa 11.00 after long night flight from UK; had to wait circa1.5 hours for room - staff not bothered just quoted 14.00 hours check in time. Elsewhere service mixed - some was excellent including from the 2 drivers and Ian on reception; have informed the hotel of poor service examples elsewhere. Food very good, our waiter for the 2 nights we ate in was very good but poor attitude from management. The hotel has a lovely location and the area is safe and feels it.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms can be noisy due to people eating in the courtyard below.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray N, Managing Director at Winchester Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and for your feedback. Our check in time is at 14h00, our reason for this as with most hotels is to ensure that our housekeeping staff has enough time from when a guest checks out to when a new guest checks in to clean and freshen up the room. This should have been explained to you at reception, and I apologies if it was not. With regards to the service you received during your stay with us, I will investigate what went wrong as this is not the standards of the Winchester Mansions, and find it very unusual for our staff and management. Please do accept my apologies for any inconvenience we may have caused you. We do hope you did enjoy your time at the Winchester Mansions and thank you again for your efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews