We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$222
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Commodore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pepperclub Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Waterfront Village(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$151
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sugar Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$293
US$248
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,948)
Filter reviews
1,948 results
Traveller rating
1,010
674
176
61
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,010
674
176
61
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttleconvention centertsogo sunbreakfast buffetshuttle servicebeautiful hotelexcellent staybusiness hotelwater frontthe hotel offerseasy accesswaterfront areaour honeymoontable mountainlong streetsouth africaconference
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 1,948 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Hotel is located within walkable distance of Long Street and the city centre but also close enough to the V and A waterfront (walkable and free shuttle)
We had a problem with the first two rooms allocated (one was with a contecting door which we never take and the other had a dreadful smell in the bathroom) however staff moved us immedaitely to a great room on the 12 floor with a view of table mountain. Member of staff Duncan called later to ensure we were now happy and brought us some freebies as compensation.
Room was fairly standard, comfy bed, fridge, aircon, in room safe, complimentary water, hairdryer, tea/coffee making, large shower and great fluffy towels. We had a quiet 3 nights.
Breakfast was very good.
Hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. No complaints at all.
There is a pool which although very warm appeared underused.
Location is OK however there are no shops/cafes or restuarants in the immediate area which is a shame. We did see what appeared to be a large rodent in the pool area late one night while drinking on the terrace.
Would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: High floors will have some view
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank KevanEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hlengiwe M, Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your February stay with us, your comment regarding the large rodent have since been investigated and I am pleased to say that our pest control company has eradicated the problem. We value your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

We stayed here in december as part of the beginning of our honeymoon. The hotel was wonderful, lovely clean room, the staff were extremely helpful.
We ate in the hotel one of the nights and the food was very good, the selection for breakfast was brilliant.
We availed of the hop on hop off bus that went to the V&A which is very convenient, there are lots of shops and restaurants there.
The staff were also very helpful when trying to arrange taxis or excursions.
The hotel also very kindly surprised us on arrival with champagne and a gift for each of us for our honeymoon which i think was a lovely touch.
Would not hesitiate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gina291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hlengiwe M, Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us positive feedback on your stay with us, it is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon and that you were treated speacial. We value your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

This is a very comfortable hotel close to the city area but has othe advantage of an hourly shuttle to the V&A waterfront shops and restaurants. The Hop On Hop Off Bus stop is across the road. Our room was spacious, very clean with a lovely view of Table Mountain. Comfortable bed, good linen and bath towels and toiletries. Excellent breakfast with all tastes catered for. Staff are helpful and friendly. The pool is inviting and area around the pool very relaxing. Would recommend.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hlengiwe M, Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us, it is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay. We value your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

We spent 3 nights at The Cullinan and it was in a great location for exploring the city. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was great with lots of choice. The staff were extremely helpful and the hotel pool was an added bonus. I'd definitely recommend this hotel especially for famillies

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank SianVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hlengiwe M, Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us positive feedback on your recent stay with us, it is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay and the location of our hotel. We value your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Very polite and helpful staff. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Full size tv. Safe in room. Refrigerator. Bath has shower and tub, although the tub has the stopper removed because of the current historical drought.
Located across from the convention center and 5 minutes from the Victoria and Albert water front. Has a full service bar and a very nice and tasty buffet restaurant

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Artieg419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hlengiwe M, Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us positive feedback on your recent stay with us, it is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the location of our hotel. We value your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews