We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Nearby Hotels
US$183
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The One 8 Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$187
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$151
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Upperbloem(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$103
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$270
US$237
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,919)
Filter reviews
1,919 results
Traveller rating
993
665
175
60
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
993
665
175
60
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttleconvention centertsogo sunshuttle servicebreakfast buffetbeautiful hotelexcellent staybusiness hotelwater frontthe hotel offerseasy accesswaterfront areaour honeymoontable mountainlong streetsouth africaconference
Filter
Updating list...
1,549 - 1,554 of 1,919 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Impressive hotel, reception staff & porters very helpful & friendly.The free hourly shuttle bus to V&A Waterfront was extremely useful & efficiently run. The rooms are spacious & comfortable,public rooms splendid. Our only complaint was the indifferent, disorganised service at breakfast on our first day, after we had pointed this out the service improved dramatically & we had no further problems. We would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sedateskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

called into this hotel 25th Jan for evening tea was given menu had to wait more than 15 min to take order they were not busy meal not good when arrived staff we all over the place not concerned about us not once did they check if we were OK didn't ask if we would like desert so had to pay and leave and very disappointed we stayed next door at the Southern sun waterfront which is fab its staff our gems

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank savage50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The Cullinan has a Colonial feel to the entrance and service. It aims at the higher end of the market and i think it succeeds. I enjoy the feel and decor of the hotel, the serivce i have always found excellent, and the location is very good.
I have used this hotel both for business and also pleasure and it fits into both categories very well. Pool areas are quite small, but this is a CBD hotel. You can walk easliy into the waterfront and also into late night Long street as well.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This hotel is next to Cape Town city centre and close to the V&A Waterfront (it is walkable during the day, but there is also an hourly shuttle there from the hotel). The staff are exceptionally welcoming and helpful and there is a very nice poolside bar and cafe. The rooms are comfortable and of an international business/tourist standard. The public areas of the hotel (and the exterior) are impressive and there is an excellent buffet breakfast and evening buffet restaurant. I was very pleased I had chosen this hotel and will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - some rooms are directly by the main road - others facing the city or the pool are quieter
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danco28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed for the long weekend of 15th December, and this hotel proved a win. Its conveniently located, the breakfast int he morning is GREAT :-), and the staff were incredible.
We have previously stayed at the waterfront sun, the Cullinans neighbour, which cost more, and we were far more impressed with this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Durbsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your custom to provide us with feedback. It is only through feedback, positive or negative, that we can improve our delivery and your experience.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews