We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$152
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The One 8 Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Upperbloem(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Commodore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,940)
Filter reviews
1,940 results
Traveller rating
1,083
572
167
62
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,083
572
167
62
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa business class roomsea facing roominfinity poolhourly shuttletable mountainstandard roomrobben islandamazing locationbusiness tripbreakfast buffetshuttle serviceconcierge deskour honeymoonwater frontthe hotel offerssouth africafour nights
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 1,940 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018

We enjoyed our stay at the Radisson which is very well situated with stunning outdoor areas. We were a little disappointed with our room which, though modern, spacious and comfortable, looked out on the rear parking area rather than the mountain views the hotel description promised. Food in the hotel was fine but we chose to eat dinner mostly at the V & A which offered more exciting options. The real asset of this property, though, is its staff, particularly the porterage team who were absolutely delightful, helpful and friendly at all times.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank PWDW106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear PWDW106

Thank you for taking the time to send us your valuable feedback and submitting a review.

I will be sure to share your wonderful compliments with the rest of the team and delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and thoroughly enjoyed your vacation.

Please be assured that your comments have been heard regarding the aspects of our menu offerings.

On behalf of myself and the team at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront we look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Cape Town, South Africa.

Wishing you all the very best.

Kind regards

Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

We stayed here for 5 nights and had booked a Business room mainly because it offered sea views. We arrived at the hotel just before 12.00 noon but unfortunately our room wasn't ready. So we waited in the outdoor terrace area and had coffee and drinks and soaked up the sunshine and breathtaking views of the ocean. After a couple of hours our room was ready and it was certainly worth the wait. It was huge, with a bedroom, living room and spacious bathroom and best of all a large balcony furnished with sun beds, plus chairs and a small table. The views over the bay and towards Robben Island were literally stunning and you could not get closer to the ocean with out actually being in it. On more than one occasion we witnessed from our balcony and also while eating breakfast in the outdoor restaurant, the spectacle of pods of dolphins swimming and jumping in the ocean.

The hotel is really well located for access to the V & A Waterfront area with it numerous shopping, dining, drinking and activity options and offers regular complimentary transport to and from this attraction.

The hotel rate included breakfast which offered a good selection of hot and cold items from the buffet but also a la carte options to order. We also ate dinner at the hotel most evenings primarily because no where else nearby could really match the ambiance of the alfresco dining and of course the views but also because the food was really good, very well presented and reasonably priced.

This hotel is a great base for exploring the Cape Town area and beyond and I really can't recommend it enough. I certainly wouldn't hesitate to make The Radisson Blu Waterfront Cape Town my first choice for accommodation in the future.

Room Tip: Book a Business room for sea views and a room on a higher floor for views of Table Mountain.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Kevin R,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your valuable feedback and submitting a review.

I will be sure to share your wonderful compliments with the rest of the team and delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and thoroughly enjoyed your vacation. Our Food and Beverage team will be very pleased to hear that you had a lovely dining experience and enjoyed the food as well as the ambience in the restaurant. Once again, thank you for the lovely compliments as it motivates our team to exceed our Guests expectations.

Having the opportunity to experience watching the dolphins at play in the ocean is a true marvel and it is wonderful that you managed to see them.

On behalf of myself and the team at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront we look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Cape Town, South Africa.

Wishing you all the very best.

Kind regards

Debra Sivertsen
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Couldn't have pick a better hotel for our 3 night stay over in Cape Town. The rooms where spacious and of high spec, the hotel building was in itself a marvel to see. But the staff are what makes this hotel, so friendly, helpful and they pay attention to you as a customer - remembering your party, names and what you like/or may like.
Breakfast here was great, plentiful, fresh and nothing was ever to much trouble - yet again this was all down to the excellent staff throughout.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear James H,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your valuable feedback and submitting a review.

I will be sure to share your wonderful compliments with the rest of the team and delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and thoroughly enjoyed your vacation.

On behalf of myself and the team at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront we look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Cape Town, South Africa.

Wishing you all the very best.

Kind regards

Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

I have stayed here many times over the last 18 years and its still one of my favourite hotels.
The location is great, the views stunning . The rooms are nice and comfy beds. Staff friendly and polite.
There are issues though. They employ lots of restaurant staff at breakfast and in the evening but they all look so terribly busy, but quite often not really doing anything. Many times you need to ask 2 or 3 times for things., or it takes ages to get their attention
Breakfast is not up to the standard or selection you'd expect....quite limited offerings compared to other Radissons I stay in. The quality of the breakfast is questionable too.
I had room service a few nights and one dish I loved was the spinach and asparagus soup. 4 nights it was perfect and then one night it was awful, it was like 500ml of pure cream with a hint of asparagus, i just couldn't eat it. Even the 2nd attempt was truly bad. And that's the thing with this hotel, the inconsistencies. You can order the same food 3 times and get 3 different versions.

I understand the restaurant and bar area will be closing in May 18, for a total refit, so will be interesting to see what changes take place as the restaurant can be a bit hit and miss with some guests as its too open plan, and split into two by the passage of guests from the lobby to the terrace and doesn't make for a pleasant intimate dining experience.
Overall I do like this hotel, I know there is better out there, but for me I have stayed here frequently and for so long, I would hate to make a change as overall it is a great hotel, and lovely staff

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Pier P,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your valuable feedback and submitting a review.

I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and thoroughly enjoyed your vacation.

Please be assured that your comments have been heard regarding the aspects of our property, facilities and menu offerings.
This is by no means a reflection of the high standard of quality and service that the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront is usually proud to offer. Any comments we receive from our guests are invaluable to us, letting us know where we are getting our service and product right and in some cases, where we need to improve.

Once again I thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused. Thank you for being a loyal guest to our Hotel and your feedback will assist us in focusing on areas where training is required and where we can improve.

We look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to Cape Town as I am sure that you will be pleasantly surprised once our Restaurant refurbishment is completed.

Warm wishes from all of us at Radisson Blu Waterfront, Cape Town.

Kind regards,

Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews