We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Protea Hotels
US$80
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
US$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/08/21
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,343)
Filter reviews
1,343 results
Traveller rating
327
657
245
72
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
327
657
245
72
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews business school great location family room two oceans aquarium frosted glass table mountain minute walk walking distance water front red bus hop on hop breakfast room stayed here for nights hotel is situated south africa robben island breakfast was excellent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,343 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2020 via mobile

We have stayed here on numerous occasions. The hotel offers comfortable rooms and the staff are very friendly. The location is great for easy walking to the V&A waterfront. There is a self service vending machine for those late night habits. Price is very reasonable and we will stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank robertmZ6599LZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2020

Nice hotel and friendly staff. We had read reviews that the rooms were a little on the small side so we booked a delux corner suite which gave us that little bit of extra space. The hotel is very interesting because its an old prison. A lovely big selection at breakfast. The hotel is situated just over the road from V & A so it's location is perfect.

Date of stay: March 2020
2  Thank KarenN1442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2020

We chose this hotel for the location and we were not disappointed . Around 5 minute walk takes you to the heart of the waterfront where there were some wonderful restaurants. We ate at Sevruga which was amazing.

The hotel is an old prison so has plenty of character. The staff on check in were friendly and helpful. They booked taxis for us to take us to Table Mountain and to pick up our hire car, also arranged tickets to Table Mountain.

As a family of 3 we booked a room with a twin and a double room together which was comfortable but the rooms were a bit small and storage in the rooms was very limited. I would recommend upgrading to a larger room.

Great hotel

Room tip: Upgrade to a larger room if possible.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank helen89Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2020

We found this to be a great location for the V&A waterfront and the terminal for the hop on hop off buses and for Robben Island. It does seem rather strange to be sharing the accommodation with a university department but we loved the quirkiness of its prison heritage. All the staff were courteous and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable but not outstanding. We would certainly choose to stay here if we were visiting Cape Town again.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2020 via mobile

Stayed here 5 nights using the 5th night free Marriott points offer. Location is super. Easy walk down steps to the Cape Town Waterfront. It’s a little basic ( no robe, conditioner ) it has multiple buildings, some of which have real character (old prison). Done Buildings are shared with the university.
The clothes drier in building 2 floor 2 lounge 2 does not work well. The one in lounge 1 (sane floor) does.
Staff are efficient.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank AbsolutelyDubrovnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

Dear AbsolutelyDubrovnik,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge and providing your honest feedback on TripAdvisor.

Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. As a teachable moment, we have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place to address the self service laundry facilities from occurring in the future.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

Sincerely,
ELDINE PERA
Rooms Division Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
eldine@bwl.co.za
+27 21 406 1911

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews