We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Tea, a Cape Classic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This review is for High Tea at the Mount Nelson, not the accommodation itself.

You will find a bewildering array of teas on offer, enough savoury and sweet treats to assuage even the most persistent of hunger pangs, all served in the luxurious surroundings of one of the best hotels in South Africa. Live music, sparkling wine option. Much to enjoy.

Tip: Go on a weekday, and sit in the lounge rather than outdoors or the conservatory if you want an elegant experience. Weekends are busy, and larger groups tend not to be seated in the lounge.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepeckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

We are very happy that you enjoyed the "High Tea" at the Mount Nelson. Did you know that we also organize a morning tea which is also very enjoyable? Thank you for taking some of your time to send this nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,161 - 1,165 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

While the golden years of the Nelson might be past, it is still a solid choice for a retreat in Cape Town. As compared to other hotels in the city, it is the one that can provide you with gorgeous grounds and the space to unwind by the pool surrounded by lush gardens. For the most part, the staff are excellent. Unfortunately some of the supervisors seem like relics from the Apartheid era, and there seems to be a glass ceiling for those who are not white. This remains a problem and I think does affect morale. Otherwise, the service staff are very attentive and some have been around for years doing excellent work (and should be promoted).

I had some nitpicky issues with my room. Gone are the slippers (which is an odd item to omit for budgetary reasons?). My shower had low water pressure and did not drain properly, so I wound up ankle deep in cold water. The flat screen tv's are a big improvement, although the channel selection (30 only) is subpar. Local satellite access allows for four times that many. The breakfasts have toned down since the days of steak tartar, but are still very good. Pastries and breads, now made in house, are improved. The spa has received a major upgrade, but so have the prices.

If you are a fan of old world character and plenty of outdoor space, the Mount Nelson is still worth a try.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WDV1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you for posting your comments. Your point about the attitude of a supervisor is well noted and I did see the guest comment that you addressed to us about this matter. I will monitor this closely as this is unacceptable.
Sorry for the few technical issues that you encountered in your room. Slippers are a standard amenity in all guestrooms and therefore do not understand why you did not have them. Finally, our current television system allows us to have 30 channels and not as many options as you may have in your home.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future and appreciate your ongoing patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is probably the best hotel I have stayed over many years travelling. From the minute we arrived the welcome and service was second to none. We were given a room upgrade overlooking the fountain and gardens which were wonderfully sunny each morning. Breakfast was taken by the pool and included a wide variety of continental and cooked options. The afternoon tea is world famous and the Planet restaurant as good as you can get in Cape Town. There is also a very relaxing terrace overlooking the gardens where you can take a drink and lunch. Again very high standards.

The hotel is located by the Company Gardens so within walking distance of all the main museums and sights. Table mountain & V&A dock area are a short taxi drive away. In my view the location is perfect - away from the hustle and bustle of downtown but just a short walk if you wanted that sort of thing.

There were many examples of touches that puts this hotel above others including an adults only pool, a courtesy car when available, spare spectacles at the restaurant for those people who have forgotten them - the list is endless. You will not be disppointed if you go.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you for posting your positive comment. This is much appreciated from a "Top Contributor". We are truly happy that you enjoyed your vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

In South Africa earlier this month. Was so looking forward to the Mount Nelson Hotel. Words cannot describe how excited I was to visit this distinguished grand dame of a property. I had heard such wonderful things.

Pulling up to the “pink lady” with the entrance off to the side, I felt the first pangs of “ugh-oh”. It felt crowded and claustrophobic and oh-so…pink. Continuing through the lobby, it is difficult not to be drawn out the French doors to the porch and verdant grounds beyond. All very gracious. But then you sort of look around the main area of the lobby, and things just feel a little…mildewy, like I imagine Miss Marple’s lounge to be. Here you can enjoy a formal tea in the afternoons, as has been the tradition for over a century, and which continues to be a sold-out event. And yes, the English influence, antiques and twee touches speak to a gracious and bygone era. I get it. But for me, the Mount Nelson was less like Raffles in Singapore and more like the Nacional in Havana - just a little world weary. The stately bones are there, but this distinguished dame is in need of a facelift – even a little exfoliation and botox injections would go a long way to restore her to her former majesty.

The lack of maintenance, to me, was further evidenced as we toured the hotel and saw different rooms. Mattelassé bed spreads…with a stain. Marble table tops…with sticky food remains. Yuck. Nicks in furniture. Marks on walls.

The hotel has expanded to include a little village of pink garden cottages, all with front gates like a little pink English town in the Cotswalds. All situated around a pool area. Very quaint and charming, and I can see the appeal, but I feel like unless you're going there specifically for the history and its iconic role in Cape Town, there are just better options. I would definitely book in for tea, though.

PS - we also dined in Planet - their renovated, contemporary restaurant designed to draw in a younger, well-heeled clientele. The GM told us that Planet was pulling them in and a tremendous success. I definitely liked the bar - loved the photos of celebrities lining the walls and the comfy couches and chairs, but found the restaurant decor, with the pin-point lights like stars and solar system chandeliers, to be a disconnect with the more typical decor. For me, it didn't work. Having said that, the food was very good and the wine list superb.

Room Tip: For history, opt for the main building, but my choice would be one of the garden cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Battered Orange S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor but disappointed that you did not appreciate our property. Our lounge is going to get a light refurbishment in the upcoming months. If you did see duvets with stains, sticky marble table tops, etc...then this is obviously not acceptable.
Hopefully, if you do return, we hope that you will leave with a better impression. Thanks for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed here recently for 4 nights at the beginning of a safari holiday. Although our room was not ready upon arriving, the manager soon put us in a different room which was clean and comfortable with views of the surrounding gardens.
The Planet restaurant is fantastic with a very innovative menu. Also found the buffet breakfast to be fully stocked and enough choices to satisfy anyone. The concierge was extremely helpful in booking tours and dinner reservations.
In all great hotel, but a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sljayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on the Mount Nelson Hotel. Very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that our concierges were helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2.7 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,105 reviews
2.6 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,680 reviews
1 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,349 reviews
3.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
2.5 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: €348 - €647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, in Cape Town’s buzzing heart. We invite you to relax in our iconic pink buildings, airy rooms and dreamy gardens. Enjoy imaginative local cuisine, nourishing spa treatments and eye-catching artworks. Captivating visitors since 1899, Cape Town’s iconic resort hotel is a tranquil hideaway just moments from the city’s buzzing heart. Our 198 individually designed rooms and suites and a host of fabulous facilities appeal equally to romantic couples, families or adventurous groups. Stroll through our expansive gardens, take a tree tour or browse the outdoor sculpture exhibition. Discover the hotel’s history, art and culture on self-guided tours. Enjoy imaginative cuisine in our restaurants and soothing bliss at the spa. Just beyond our gates lies the pulsating city, with stunning beaches and historic hotspots moments away. Forever watching over the hotel is Table Mountain, another wondrous Cape Town landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing