We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Retreat on the Waterfront”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Cape Grace is in a historic building right on the V&A waterfront. Keep in mind the waterfront is a functioning harbor, not a pretty beach. The location is great as it is within walking distance (< 5 mins) of many restaurants, arts & craft stores, an upscale shopping center, an aquarium, and some historic sites. In particular, I would recommend the V&A Food Market for lunch which you can picture as a cutesy/upscale food court, and Den Anker for dinner which is a Belgian restaurant with a nice beer selection (order the beer that requires you volunteer your left shoe). Check out the Watershed for a large complex with many craft shops done by local artists. The hotel provides a free car service within a limited distance; we used this for drop off and pickup from Table Mountain (about 15 minutes away) -- and if you do this, purchase your cable car tickets ahead of time to avoid the lengthy queue upon arrival.

Each floor of the hotel is decorated in a unique theme (Dutch colonial, British colonial, agriculture and Malay). The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. Throughout our stay, from the moment we arrived, the hotel staff greeted us by name and strived to ensure we had a great stay.

The hotel has a library which they use for afternoon high tea (for a fee), and for evening port & sherry tastings (complimentary). There is also a small outdoor pool and lounge chairs although it was a tad chilly when we were there to make use of that. The restaurant serves meals throughout although we only took advantage of the included breakfast which was quite a treat. I would recommend the corn fritter/pancakes. Adjacent to the restaurant is a small bar, but ignore that and ask for directions to the one below ground -- that one has a large selection of whiskeys that you can order individually or more interestingly in flights of 3. That was quite a treat and reasonably priced as well. Locals may also be in the bar and we chatted with a group which was interesting for comparing notes about what it's like to live in Cape Town.

I don't think our travel books properly described what Cape Town was like. This section of the city is plucked straight out of Europe -- it has the feel of Amsterdam or similar, but cleaner. Overall, it was a great stay and wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SuperDave666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

Everything - from the incredible brunch offerings to the lovely harbor view & equally lovely room to the excellent staff - was fantastic. Very special kudos to "Julie" for superlative guest assistance.

Room Tip: ask for harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilogrammy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

I stayed at Cape Grace 4 nights. The rooms were beautiful, the furnishings in the hotel were beautiful, the staff was over the top and the food was top notch. Our room overlooked a marina and me feel like I was at home.

Room Tip: Request a marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

As close as it gets to perfection...easy walking distance to major shopping and sights..attentive and cooperative staff..amazing breakfast buffet..spacious room, nice bar(s), nice gym, overall a great respite from the days of safari

Room Tip: anything other than the front if noise is an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

While the location is excellent an the rooms are lovely - this place is no where near a five star hotel. Staff is unorganized and even unhelpful sometime. Example: sparkling water was promised for our room at checkin - it appear two days later. On the day of checkout - all room plugs were in operative - and the wifi went out - making checking our flights impossible! We were told about how to get to the Robben Island ferry -- but they neglected to tell us a major bridge was out, thus lengthening the trip by 10-15 mins. Food is VERY overpriced and not that good. Our waiter was overbearing and unfriendly. I would overlook almost all of this for the location. You can eat VERY well close by. It just grates on me to have this place call itself a five star hotel when we get treated like this. WOULD NOT STAY THERE AGAIN.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,681 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,351 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: €428 - €1,415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing