We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
Ranked #39 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect for our needs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

The Garden Court was just what we needed for our three night stay in Cape Town. It has a lovely vines of Table Mountain and is conveniently located near the bus stop. It is also located near a small convenience store great for takeouts for day trips or back to the room after a busy day of touring.

The included breakfast buffet was more than sufficient and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Mountain view is wonderful if you plan on being at the hotel for any part of the day. Opposite side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ofmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    168
    62
    11
    7
See reviews for
125
108
17
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

I stayed in Garden Court de Waal from 8th to 13th November, 2011. As it was part of a great flight+hotel internet deal, I was a bit scared of what I would find. Great surprise! The room was very clean, nice view to the Table Mountain (so we could see whether toe top was too clody or not), a huge choice of food for breakfast, kind and attentive staff. Close to the Waterfront, reachable by a taxii ride that didn't cost more than 70 rands. Definitely worth staying there. The low point was internet access, payable, slow and with confusing instructions.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaCris1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prasanta45
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

The hotel is good value for money, has a good location, rooms are large and fairly well furnished. The breakfast spread is good.
What spoils the experience is first the unfriendly staff -- they seem unhappy to see you and secondly the terrible state of the plumbing. This was not peculiar to my room, my friends in two other rooms had similar plumbing problem.
Inspite of the problems its a place where we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prasanta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, South Africa
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week B and B. We were concerned that the total cost for a week was so low that we had made a mistake. What a surprise therefore to find such a clean well kept room, service was so polite and excellent from all the staff we dealt with and maintenance fixed a small bathroom problem within the hour. We had arrived after having been robbed of belongings in Franschhoek and really wanted to go home, but we soon settled by the first morning when we saw what was available for breakfast and are thoughts of "too cheap a stay" put at rest.
The hotel is centrally situated--easy to get to Table Mountain and the Waterfront, and close by is the Gardens Shopping centre. One negative comment was the poolside being close to a busy road was noisy and the occcasional diesel fumes blew over, but then the hotel is not new and no doubt would not be designed that way today.
The resturant is adequate if you want to stay in or you can use room service for the same items. If they are busy they provide a buffet supper.
All told good value--would stay again.. Tip book early and if you over 63 tell them.

Room Tip: Ice machine is on second floor--noisy. Ask for one slightly away from the lifts, and with a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FRED B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I and some friends stayed here for the 2012 jazz festival and we found it exceptional value for money. The rooms were clean, fresh and more than adequate. The reception desk was friendly and efficient. The breakfast was very good and substantial. All in all I would heartily recommend the hotel and we will definitely stay in it again.

Room Tip: Ask for the paraplegic room if it's available, it's far more spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindiwe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#53 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Strand Tower Hotel
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunSquare Cape Town Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunSquare Cape Town Gardens

Property: SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
Address: 10 Mill Street Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Garden Court de Waal)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#52 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — SunSquare Cape Town Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a square on the block in the Mother City. SunSquare Cape Town Gardens is located in the vibrant and cosmopolitan suburb of The Gardens, on the edge of the Cape Town City Bowl. This trendy hotel offers guests more of what they want, making their hotel experience a memorable one. SunSquare Cape Town Gardens is close to the CBD as well as the Cape Town International Convention Centre, whilst the Cape Town International Airport is only a short 20-minute drive from the hotel. For leisure travellers, the hotel is beautifully positioned at the base of Table Mountain - one of the new 'Seven Wonders of Nature' - and is close to Long Street, which has an array of day and night time activities with its vast selection of chic restaurants and boutique shops. The hotel is also located within close proximity to main attractions in the area, such as the V&A Waterfront and the gorgeous beaches of Camps Bay and Bloubergstrand. About the hotel SunSquare Cape Town Gardens combines affordability and comfort with modern accommodation for individuals who know exactly what they want. The spacious lobby extends into a bar area, providing a relaxing place for guests to socialise and enjoy themselves - chatting, working or listening to music. The lounge area leads off from the lobby and is yet another comfortable space where guests can read the newspaper, conduct business meetings, or just sit back and relax. Guests can also unwind and have a drink by the terrace, which looks over a lovely pool deck and has magnificent views of the city. For those guests who want to stay fit and healthy while staying at the hotel, the well-equipped gym comes in handy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia and HotelQuickly so you can book your SunSquare Cape Town Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court De Waal Hotel Cape Town Central
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing