We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (821)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveller rating
644
135
27
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
644
135
27
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dash restaurant dock house premium room table mountain sister hotel boutique hotel huge bathroom waterfront area beautiful hotel perfect location our honeymoon small hotel water front few minutes walk four nights rooms are spacious the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 821 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Perfect location next to the waterfront but once inside was a peaceful setting where all the staff couldn’t do enough to make our stay memorable. Our premium room on the 2nd floor was well positioned with wrap around balcony as we had a corner room. The bed was quite soft which I thought I’d not like but I slept really well so no complaints there. Breakfast was lovely,with a continental help yourself buffet as well as cooked options. Fantastic G&Ts as a nightcap and Oswald and Simon on the door were a pleasure to talk to each morning. Lynette helped with tour and restaurant recommendations. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again to get the personal touch in this small boutique hotel with such a great location. Only gripe was that a wedding in the hotel meant we could not use the pool facility for a couple of the days of our stay.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fynalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Good Monring

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel.

The team at the Queen Victoria Hotel are a truly a fantastic group of people who are incredibly passionate about guest service and I will definitely be passing on your comments to the team who will be very appreciative.

Thank you for your understanding regarding the pool closure and we would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us.

Kind Regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed and helped in the warmest manner. Our room was luxurious with a sitting section, two large screen TVs, one in the bedroom and one in the sitting section. We had a balcony which overlooked the Portswood Ridge which was quiet and attractive. It was a five minute walk to all the Waterfront attractions, including the new Zeitz MOCAA gallery, many restaurants and a huge variety of shops. It is the perfect location as it is close to everything but away from the noise of the heart of the Waterfront. The Dash restaurant at the hotel had a wonderful menu and service and is a "must visit" during your stay.

Room tip: We had a 2nd floor room facing away from the harbour, which was very quite and nice.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethJill1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Good Morning

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel and Manor House. We are delighted to hear of Your recent experience.

The team and I truly are passionate about creating wonderful Guest experiences and I am happy to hear that that we were able to add value to your time in Cape Town. Our location certainly does put you right in the heart of the Mother City with wonderful experiences right on your door step.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us.

Kind Regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel for 5 nights in a Premium Room. At check-in we were not satisfied with our room as it was on the ground floor and it is very noisy. The front desk staff was quick to change our room and ensure that we were satisfied. Even if you book a premium room the layouts can be quite different. The room interior is very nice but I found the bathroom interior just average. There is not enough light in the bathroom and interior can be improved. The location of the hotel is amazing as it is a couple of minutes walk to the V&A.

We did have a couple of minor issues such as we asked for an iron in the room and it was leaking with water and not functioning properly. Eventually they gave us a new iron but it took a while. Even the replacement iron was not working perfectly.
The Doorman was very helpful when we would ask for directions he would take us by foot to show the way.

The breakfast at the the hotel was disappointing. Choices are limited. The croissants were the worst I have had during our 15 nights stay in South Africa. I would expect to have better quality croissants considering we are in Cape Town at a 5 star hotel. We had much better croissants at various hotels near the Garden Route. The Cappuccino quality could be improved as well.

Overall, we really liked the rooms as they were comfortable with a view of Table Mountain. The bathroom interior needs updating. The breakfast is definitely below average and needs improvement.

Room tip: Rooms on second floor are better as there is less noise from outside.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hasanaR9188RG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Good Monring

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. I am truly disappointed that your experience was not up to standard as it is our main goal to meet and exceed our guests expectation.

We take all feed back very seriously and I can assure you that all the points raised will be addressed and resolved as a matter of urgency.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

We booked at the very last minute and got an amazing deal. Queen Victoria Hotel is a small, very elegant 5-star hotel just on the edge of the V&A Waterfront where there are of course other 5-star hotels which are also very gorgeous but eye-wateringly expensive. QVH was exceptional value for money. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and we would single out Simon, the lobby porter, for special mention as a Top Bloke! His broad smile will remain with us.

Our room was beautiful with the best hotel bed we have slept in for some years (seriously). Unfortunately we couldn't use the bath owing to the water shortage but the shower was great and the dressing gowns! One of us is over 6 feet tall and this was the first hotel dressing gown to fit him properly since about 2010. That earns QVH the fifth star. There was a bit of corridor noise from staff during the night, probably because our room on the ground floor (1102) was opposite some staff rooms; if we stay again I'll request a room higher up and you may wish to do that too.

We had a great breakfast and a good club sandwich in the bar. Sadly we only stayed one night so didn't have the chance to try the restaurant. When we return to Cape Town this hotel will be our choice. It really is a great place. All that the V&A Waterfront offers is within a short walk but the only noise that carried across was African street music, and who's going to complain about that?

Thanks Queen Victoria. We were delighted we found you.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Good Morning

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel and Manor House. We are delighted to hear of Your amazing experience.

The team and I truly are passionate about the experience our guest receive and I am happy to hear that that we were able to add value to your time in Cape Town. Simon is a true asset to the team and we will certainly pass on your appreciation.

Thank you for your support and understanding of the current water crisis.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us.

Kind Regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

If you go to Cape Town, stay at the V&A waterfront. Its where you will spend all your evening anyway. The Queen Vic is perfectly placed for all the restaurants and attractions. Lovely hotel too. Friendly, helpful staff. Modern well appointed rooms. Its a shame the restaurant and bar don't do more business in the evening because they are very good.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulJohnson999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Good Morning

On behalf of the staff and management of the Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us this review.We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We continuously strive to provide a high standard of service and we will certainly ensure we pass on the positive comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews