We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the QV hotel for a week in mid Feb. We loved it here!

Our room (we were lucky enough to be given an upgrade) was extremely well appointed & had a fabulous view of Table Mountain. The staff were v friendly and super efficient. Breakfast was delicious and we took advantage of the facilities at the other Newmark hotels. In particular the gym & spa at the Dock House next door & the pool at the Ambassador hotel a 10 min cab ride away (c. ZAR 60) in Bantry Bay.

QV is also perfectly located & an excellent base for tours. Brilliant to be right by the V&A waterfront with so many great restaurants (Willoughby's is a must!) & shops.

Can't recommend the QV enough & will definitely return if we're ever back in CT. 

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holiday_hobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 606 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

we had never been to Cape Town and picked the hotel mainly because it was available. We struck gold, the room was fantastic witha view of the V&A waterfront. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The pool area is a delightful retreat and you are 5 mins from the waterfront and all the restaurants.We can't wait to return and will stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pickyvisitor63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the Queen Victoria Hotel. The location was great for exploring the waterfront area, and our room was spacious and beautifully appointed. This boutique hotel is a great choice for people who want to avoid the sometimes impersonal experience of larger hotels. The staff was friendly and professional, and seemed genuinely interested in ensuring our comfort in the hotel - and enjoyment of our time in Cape Town.

Room Tip: If a view is important to you, ask for a description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberlyhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I have recently returned from a trip to SA and stayed 3 nights at the Queen Victoria. We had a wonderful stay. The hotel is located just off the V&A Waterfront in an elevated position, it was an ideal location for us - it gave us easy access to all the action on the waterfront but were able to relax and chill at the poolside away from the hustle and bustle. All the staff were friendly, courteous and attentive. The room was beautifully furnished and we had a good view of Table Mountain. We ate in the Dash restaurant on our first night and the food was fabulous and the service excellent. This is a very chic, unpretentious hotel and exceeded our expectations - their attention to detail - turn down service in the evening, complimentary fruit/cold water/cold towel at the poolside, bottles of water and newspaper in the car when we were collected from the airport. The standard of service is excellent and all staff Bobby Pringle the Manager, front desk, doormen, restaurant and bar staff, etc etc are a credit to the hotel and the Newmark hotel Company. We would highly recommend the Queen Victoria to anyone visiting Cape Town!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephanieCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed three nights in the junior suite at the Queen Victoria Hotel and had a fantastic stay. The suite was spacious, clean, and comfortable as one would expect from a five-star hotel. The pool is really more of a place to dip than to swim but this is fine unless you are expecting a "sit by the pool holiday". The staff were extremely courteous and welcoming. The bar staff were informed, efficient and friendly, the dining area is smart and the food is of a high standard. I think it is worth mentioning in view of the pink pound, that this hotel seemed to us to be very gay-friendly and easy-going. Queen Victoria hotel is everything you might expect from a five star venue and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Junior suite was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1foodielove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,323 reviews
0.3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,097 reviews
0.1 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,659 reviews
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,781 reviews
2.1 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: €276 - €554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Splitty, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing