We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Boutique bliss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel
Ranked #14 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boutique bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the QV hotel for a week in mid Feb. We loved it here!

Our room (we were lucky enough to be given an upgrade) was extremely well appointed & had a fabulous view of Table Mountain. The staff were v friendly and super efficient. Breakfast was delicious and we took advantage of the facilities at the other Newmark hotels. In particular the gym & spa at the Dock House next door & the pool at the Ambassador hotel a 10 min cab ride away (c. ZAR 60) in Bantry Bay.

QV is also perfectly located & an excellent base for tours. Brilliant to be right by the V&A waterfront with so many great restaurants (Willoughby's is a must!) & shops.

Can't recommend the QV enough & will definitely return if we're ever back in CT. 

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday_hobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    101
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
62
388
15
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

we had never been to Cape Town and picked the hotel mainly because it was available. We struck gold, the room was fantastic witha view of the V&A waterfront. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The pool area is a delightful retreat and you are 5 mins from the waterfront and all the restaurants.We can't wait to return and will stay here again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickyvisitor63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the Queen Victoria Hotel. The location was great for exploring the waterfront area, and our room was spacious and beautifully appointed. This boutique hotel is a great choice for people who want to avoid the sometimes impersonal experience of larger hotels. The staff was friendly and professional, and seemed genuinely interested in ensuring our comfort in the hotel - and enjoyment of our time in Cape Town.

Room Tip: If a view is important to you, ask for a description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberlyhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I have recently returned from a trip to SA and stayed 3 nights at the Queen Victoria. We had a wonderful stay. The hotel is located just off the V&A Waterfront in an elevated position, it was an ideal location for us - it gave us easy access to all the action on the waterfront but were able to relax and chill at the poolside away from the hustle and bustle. All the staff were friendly, courteous and attentive. The room was beautifully furnished and we had a good view of Table Mountain. We ate in the Dash restaurant on our first night and the food was fabulous and the service excellent. This is a very chic, unpretentious hotel and exceeded our expectations - their attention to detail - turn down service in the evening, complimentary fruit/cold water/cold towel at the poolside, bottles of water and newspaper in the car when we were collected from the airport. The standard of service is excellent and all staff Bobby Pringle the Manager, front desk, doormen, restaurant and bar staff, etc etc are a credit to the hotel and the Newmark hotel Company. We would highly recommend the Queen Victoria to anyone visiting Cape Town!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed three nights in the junior suite at the Queen Victoria Hotel and had a fantastic stay. The suite was spacious, clean, and comfortable as one would expect from a five-star hotel. The pool is really more of a place to dip than to swim but this is fine unless you are expecting a "sit by the pool holiday". The staff were extremely courteous and welcoming. The bar staff were informed, efficient and friendly, the dining area is smart and the food is of a high standard. I think it is worth mentioning in view of the pink pound, that this hotel seemed to us to be very gay-friendly and easy-going. Queen Victoria hotel is everything you might expect from a five star venue and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Junior suite was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1foodielove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
0.6 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
0.5 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
1.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
0.9 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel

Property: Queen Victoria Hotel
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria Hotel is the newest addition to Newmark Hotel’s portfolio, which offers a myriad of ideally located upmarket hotels, other accommodation options and restaurants. What sets this unique five-star boutique hotel apart is the attention to detail given by the creative team responsible for its development, who achieved this through their unwavering passion for awe-inspiring design.From the creative brief of ‘where classic elegance meets contemporary design’, every effort has been made to ensure that the 35-room Queen Victoria Hotel is a haven of calm, luxury and understated opulence amongst the hustle and bustle of Cape Town’s popular V&A Waterfront.The interiors create an ambience of peaceful elegance, through the use of greys and taupes, marble-clad walls, crystal chandeliers, white marble and wooden parquet flooring, not to mention the triple-volume foyer with its dramatic white spiral staircase, glass lift and crystal chandeliers. The signature shade of deep purple has been employed to add a touch of regal eccentricity as an ode to the historic figure after whom the hotel is named.From the food and beverage offering at the hotel’s restaurant and bar, Dash, to the interior aesthetic, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies a sense of international flair fused with local flavour. The menu at Dash is structured around classic French cuisine, with all ingredients sourced locally and seasonally, while ninety per cent of the interior pieces were sourced from local design geniuses.With a management team and staff dedicated to making every guest feel like royalty, a stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel will certainly exceed your expectation of what five-star luxury should be like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Victoria Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing