We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“short break”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I spent a total of four nights at the Taj in February and despite earlier hesitation as to whether staying in the CBD was a great idea, I decided to have a rather optimistic approach. As I had arrived during the running up to the opening of Parliament, there was quite a bit of activity around the hotel. Taj is a well...

Room Tip: higher floors better view of table mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aitch59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    347
    84
    28
    27
See reviews for
278
710
86
407
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg, south africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I spent a total of four nights at the Taj in February and despite earlier hesitation as to whether staying in the CBD was a great idea, I decided to have a rather optimistic approach. As I had arrived during the running up to the opening of Parliament, there was quite a bit of activity around the hotel.

Taj is a well reputed brand, and it delivered all the best of service one could imagine at their Cape Town establishment. Arrive either by a stunning Jaguar XJ or hired car (free valet and parking) all you will be whisked away promptly to the intimate reception area. Here you are met by well-humored and genuinely friendly members of staff.

The hotel offered a complimentary upgrade to a one bedroom suite. The suite is breath-taxingly gorgeous! It is massive, surely surpassing 100 square meters. The suite consists of a dining area, a very comfortable seating area in front of the bed, the incredibly comfortable king size bed, many stand alone, mirrored closets as well as the marble-clad bathrooms. The most stunning aspect of the suite is the glassed balcony overlooking the gorgeous St George's Mall. The atmosphere is relaxing. As I have been multiple times to Cape Town, I chose to just relax in the confines of the comfortable suite.

The location is ideal for business travel, however if you are a leisure traveler this should not mean that the Taj should not be considered. The V&A Waterfront is a mere 15 minutes away, the famous Long Street is not even a 3 minute stroll away- hosting a variety of amazing restaurants and nightlife.

The breakfast was somewhat of a disappointment in regard to variety. The Bombay Brasserie restaurant on the contrary, was superb.

The Taj is a beautiful and intimate establishment in the heart of one of the most beautiful cities in the world. I would like to extend my thanks especially to the housekeeping team who had brought me a new pillow off of the menu each night as well as for the turn down services and treats. I was made to feel at home, easily!

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in the new tower rather than the heritage building if you prefer a more modern soph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozi-sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Our room was in the heritage wing on the 4th floor overlooking St Georges Mall - it was a quiet room although the view from outside the window was not particularly inspiring. The room provided every comfort we required with great air con control, bathroom facilities and comfortable bed. It is well situated in the heart of Cape Town. The hotel doesn't have a vast common / bar area and these are confined to the ground floor - it didn't bother us too much as we either spent time outside the hotel or in the room. This hotel should really be given 5 stars in this review but fails on service. Don't get me wrong everyone was polite and helpful and the consiege service is 1st class providing restaurant bookings, drop off by limousine and local knowledge but if fails on room replenishments - every day we had something missing be it the tea pot, cups, tea, wine glasses etc - it varied every day of our 8 day stay and the duty manager was unable to solve the problem despite trying hard.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Taj Cape Town for seven nights in February. We were looked after very well and would agree with all the complimentary posts.
Service is exemplary, without being overbearing. Concierge and valet-parking all hassle free. Rooms are well appointed, quiet and the lifts are efficient. Excellent location with most sites only a few minutes drive or walk away.

Room Tip: As you might imagine, the higher the floor, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryBoyyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed at the Taj Cape Town for three days.
My room had the most gorgous view of the mountain, it beautifully appointed with all the extras of a 5 star hotel. It has a iron in the room which is is great when you travel on business. A pillow menu, but a hard bed, for my liking.

The bathroom is amazing, well thought out, its the star of the show!

Room Tip: All i can say is upgrade, but really all the rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwabisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,027 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,716 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,211 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Property: Taj Cape Town
Address: 1 Wale Street | corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing