We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great discovery!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel
Ranked #45 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great discovery!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in late January for 10 nights. Seapoint is approx 7mins drive or (if you're keen) a 45min walk to the V&A Waterfront (near CBD). It has a large number of great restaurants and bars within walking distance from the hotel and is just a short 10min drive to Camps Bay (divine!) This was our first time to Capetown and Seapoint is an ideal location - pool and small beach area just 4min walk from the hotel.

The hotel is tucked away in a one way street (approx 50 metres from the main street through Seapoint). It has a contemporary feel from the moment you step inside the foyer and the room was large & tastefully decorated. Our room was located at the front of the building on the 2nd floor (near the lift) which initially bothered me though it didn't cause any noise disruptions. As there's only 3 floors, most people seem to walk up/down the stairs. We didn't have a view though we had two large windows which created a more open feel to the room. The kitchenette is quite small though adequate and we cooked a few meals in. Apparently its expected that the cleaner will wash your dishes as detergent is not provided. We asked for the contents to be removed from the mini fridge so we could store some food (purchased from nearby supermarkets) and this was done without hesitation.

The bathroom was spacious and the bedroom was massive especially the X-large king bed - seriously good! TV is only located in the bedroom. The rooms do not have a laundry however the hotel offers a same day laundry/dry cleaning service (very cheap).

The hotel provided a complimentary lap-top/wifi, GPS and free carparking - fabulous! Natasha & Desi are lovely and were more than helpful suggesting/booking tourist activities. As we had an extended stay, a lovely complimentary dinner was organised at a fabulous French restaurant not far from the hotel.

They also provide complimentary water and we received yummy welcome chocolates on arrival. Off from the foyer, they also have a kitchen/dining area where guests can have a complimentary coffee/water/soft drink and an honour system for alcohol taken from the fridge. There's also a small outdoor area where you can sit & relax.

If you're concerned about security, don't be. The hotel has a night guard and we felt extremely safe.

Overall we were extremely happy with our stay and it was sad to say goodbye to this lovely city we fell in love with. PS: Make sure you visit New York Bagel, a Jewish deli/cafe right near the hotel - great for breakfasts/lunch and it has an amazing selection of food that you can take back to your room. Yum!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 66princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    59
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
173
25
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

my husband & I spent 6 nights here in december, our first time in cape town-wow what a place. the hotel was perfect, the staff even more perfect !! natasha and desi go out of their way to help you.natasha helped to book our excursions, never pushy just helpful. the room was spotless,location ideal as close to everything. we liked Primi piatti on corner, good atmosphere, great food and drinks and wonderful staff. Atlantic express restaurant,( looks like a railway carriage,) great fillet steaks. Hotel very secure, the only bad point was having to leave, will definitely return later this year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmymcBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This hotel is very nice and the staff is very warm and helpful. The rooms are big, neat and beautiful, with every amenity possible. There were chocolates, water and wine in the fridge, and we didn´t have to pay for them. It has a kitchen and living area in addition to the bedroom. When they knew that it was my birthday, they gave me a bottle of Cap Classic as a gift. It was really kind. My husband and I had a great time in Cape Town staying in this hotel, which is walking distance from the beach. The only "cons" is the fact that they don´t offer breakfast, but we walked to next corner and had a good meal. I recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLUIZABR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

stayed here in Dec 2011 ... having never been to capetown. The location at Seapoint is excellent@ lots of good bars and restaurants in walking distance away from the crush of Camps bay ... but camps bay is only 5-10 mins away for good beaches. We stayed on one of the penthouses . a huge double room terrace facing towards the ocean, a kitchenette with lounge area and TV. The terrace was a fab place to have breakfast and we ordered in great coffee from the reception downstairs. I really loved this place|: very low key but luxurious, very safe and great service. I would much rather stay here than in a conventional hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinePLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Smiling, welcoming staff (e.g. Natasha) helped to make us feel instantly relaxed after a long, overnight journey. Lots of touches like the Italian-style coffee/TV area next to reception, the use of glass and the sculpture, make the hotel feel very modern and well-designed yet far less anonymous or intimidating than some stark modern buildings do. The room was large, airy, well-lit, well-equipped, air-conditioned and well laid out. Use of cushions and modern, upholstered chairs adds to a relaxed feeling. The huge bed was really comfortable - I'm an insomniac but I slept well! It's easy to get around by car from here and parking is safe, free and on site.The kitchen area is great, with all you need to rustle up a good breakfast, lunch or dinner, if you want to (Woolworths good food hall is a short walk away) - or just to enjoy wine from the local area: yes, there is a corkscrew if you need one! The welcome pack includes good chocolates. The hotel staff live up to their pledge of turning guests into friends. They even remembered to book us into a popular restaurant for 10 days after our initial stay - and, yes, we came back to the Atlantic Affair and enjoyed the second stay just as much.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 km away
The Villa Rosa
The Villa Rosa
#20 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.0 km away
Mountview Spa and Guest House
Mountview Spa and Guest House
#59 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.9 km away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#12 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#29 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.9 km away
Cape Finest Guesthouse
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#37 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.8 km away
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille ...
#51 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel

Property: Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel
Address: 9 Clarens Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for the needs of the discerning traveler and located within 1 minute walking distance to the seafront, the hotel offers luxury self-catering accommodation featuring all necessary amenities, minimalistic urban design, simplicity and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Affair Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing