We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only hotel we will stay at in Cape Town”
Review of Head South Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Head South Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

After a 11-hour flight, we arrived past midnight to find a written note welcoming us. The next morning I was greeted with, "you must be Janna... welcome." My husband and I travel 1-2 times per month and have stayed at all sorts of accommodations, though we have never experienced such authentic hospitality as we did at Head South Lodge. Jeff, Meggan and Ramona have a lot they could teach to so many hotels out there. They don't talk about the premier experience, they live it with their guests. I've been sharing our time there with friends and family, telling them that they have no other choice than to stay at Hotel South Lodge :). We are already planning another trip next February... we can't wait to go back to a place that feels like home.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room upstairs with a mountain view - very peaceful with great sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWK_2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 186 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

I booked Head South based on a recommendation of friends of ours who had stayed there about five years ago. This was one of my best pre-trip moves. The staff are knowledgeable about what to see, what not to miss, and how to get there concerning not just Cape Town, but much of the Western Cape. Jeff, the owner/manager, offers detailed, excellent recommendations of things you won't find in guidebooks; all of his recommendations were spot on. He is an outstanding host, and all of the staff members are up to the same standard. The hotel itself is lovely and impeccably clean. We had a spacious room overlooking the road, which was noisy, but the windows closed out most of the noise, and it had a view of the ocean, which was lovely. Breakfast offers choices to suit anyone. I have already recommended Head South to friends planning a trip in November!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side facing the noisy road do have a view of the ocean and park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neal_from_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The Inn is on Main Road, Greenpoint. Easy access to the beaches and to waterfront/city center. Great staff: they know everything about Cape Town - where to go, what to do. They go out of their way to arrange tours and make you feel home. The rooms, however, are claustrophobic. No external windows, about 10 - 12 sq. meters. It's ok if you don't mind about staying in your room. Loved the "Honesty Bar" - just take whatever you want from the bar and write it down, make you feel like home. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulista1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Nothing is to much ! Service how it is supost to be .

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omniapartners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We loved our stay at Head South. The staff were incredibly pleasant and helpful. I went walking with the owner's wife nearly every morning - a highlight of the trip! I'm not sure if I've ever slept in a more comfortable bed, a particularly glowing comment given that I was pregnant at the time. We also found the location great for walking along the coast and for a longish jaunt to V & A. Parking was easy, right outside the lodge. We would definitely stay with Jeff and crew again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.1 km away
The One 8 Hotel
The One 8 Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
277 reviews
2.9 km away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
607 reviews
0.1 km away
Antrim Villa
Antrim Villa
#1 of 1 in Green Point
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 110 in Cape Town Central
658 reviews
2.3 km away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,083 reviews
1.2 km away
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Head South Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Head South Lodge

Address: 215 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: €79 - €120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Head South Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Head South Lodge has become one of Cape Town's leading boutique hotels. The combination of its sophisticated style and funky atmosphere over 18 years, has proven to be an attractive mix for all guests. Position and service are the strong points of Head South. Guests are offered recommendations, and assisted with directions to sites within and outside of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Head South Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Head South Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing