We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,039)
Filter reviews
1,039 results
Traveller rating
929
51
28
14
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
929
51
28
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atlantic view pineapple suite other guests range rover attention to detail breakfast tray rock room cape town every evening sunset suite table mountain infinity pool complimentary wine our honeymoon the penthouse master bedroom cape point
Filter
Updating list...
765 - 770 of 1,039 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2010

From being picked up at the airport to being returned to the airport- Camps Bay was a dream!
Atlantic View is everything we could have wished for!
Greg the owner has decorated every room to perfection! Every room has is own theme- we had room 3 the rock room- the hotel is built on the mountain side and there is a rock in the middle of the room giving it a great feel.- the rock is decorated with a Geco lamp which is great!. Each room has its own sun loungers on the patios outside there room, and a patio table to eat outside if you want. We then moved to the Penthouse Suite- this was fantastic with a waterfall bath and great shower. All the beds are orthapedic and oversized.
The staff are the best from Dale and Justine who maintain the day to day running to Eppi who always has a large smile and there is nothing too much trouble. The food is great and although you cannot have a meal at night- there are the best restaurants around in Camps Bay and the staff are happy to advise where to go and book the best table in house for you. Also they run a car service which is no dearer than a local taxi!
If you want a loud hotel then dont stay here! This hotel is for relaxing and being pampered. If you want something that does not appear to be on offer - ASK and I bet you have it within minutes.
Every evening there is Sundowners! drinks and canape's with other guests whilst watching the sun go down. We had one evening where most guests ended up opening some of their wines bought at the vineyards and chatting into the early hours-in beautiful surroundings.
Greg has also put together tours to various places in their own mecedes or land rover with your own driver(guide) yes it is a bit more expensive but you are not on a coach with 40 others and you go where YOU want!

Thanks you Greg-your hotel is beautiful and your staff are amazing - and I cant wait to come back for the last 2 days before returning home!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedfordbev55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

AtlanticView has to be one of the best hortels we have ever stayed in. The service was impecable,friendly, cheerful and ever present. The Pineapple Suite is outstanding and is a must stay room. From the innovative and delightful breakfast tray to the views from the pool this hotel reminds you of what qualatiy and personal service are all about...fantastic and it truly is your own personal heaven on earth.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchay79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Excellent service from very friendly staff. A fine suite with every facilitiy and much thought given to the finishing touches. Lovely location, out of Cape Town but close enough for convenience. Many good retaurants within easy distance. We certainly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bleurivage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

My fiancée (now wife) and I stayed at Atlantic View for eight nights for Christmas 2009. We had a superb time, and here is why:

Boutique vs. Large Hotel

The boutique nature of this hotel meant that Ami (my wife) and I were not subjected to the usual impersonal service that one sometimes receives in a large chain hotel. The staff cleaned our rooms every time we departed for downtown (not just twice a day); the employees recommended the best restaurants, tours, and shops each day, to suit the mood that we were in. Delicious Japanese style Ostrich, king prawns and other delicately prepared canapés with some eminently quaffable wine were laid on at 7pm each night, so that we could watch the sun go down and then depart for dinner in good spirits. A hotel luxury Mercedes taxi service – clean, comfortable new cars – ensured that we reached our destinations safely and in style. Put simply, nothing was beyond the staff of Atlantic View. For two people who had never been to Cape Town, the employees of Atlantic View made life easy for us. We have never felt so pampered in all of our lives. Some guests on TripAdvisor have complained about how expensive Atlantic View is. I have stayed in much more expensive hotels than Atlantic View, but have never, ever, had such great service and attention to detail.

Location

The views from this hotel are breathtaking – mountains and sea. It is located exactly far enough from Camps Bay to be away from the hustle and bustle, which means that one can get a good night’s sleep, wake up in paradise, and then be greeted by the friendly staff and sumptuous breakfasts.

Sociable yet peaceful

The “no children” policy, the owner’s belief that “you don’t need rowdy cleaners and other staff or children waking you up at the crack of dawn”, plus the evening canapés and drinks, mean that you have a peaceful stay and also, make friends. For example, Ami and I met our stand-in best man and bridesmaid at the hotel who were staying in the sunset suite, another one of Atlanticview’s wonderful rooms with outstanding views. Ami and I had eloped, to get married at Atlanticview in front of the sea. We will be seeing our new friends in England later this year.

Greg Boki (The Owner) / Dale Gardner (The General Manager).

“Greg, can we get married at your place”. “Sure, consider it done”. Greg even arranged for a harpist to play on the deck during our ceremony! “Ami’s a vegetarian.” “No problem, we serve quite a variety of food that she will enjoy”.

“Dale, please can you organize us a wedding, guide us through Cape Town, and make our lives easy”. “Hey, that’s what I am here for. No extra charge”.

When my wife sprained her ankle, Dale was on hand with an ice pack, and personally chauffeured her around, to buy medicine.

Where else do the owners and managers of a hotel treat their guests - whom they have never met and who are staying there for first time – so well?

It’s different………

The rooms are all unique. The showers are out of this world (Room 3 really is a “must stay” place). There is a ratio of two members of staff to each room – you will be hard pressed to find this at any other boutique hotel. It is impeccably clean. Everyone is polite; all requests are met with a smile. It is well-known in Cape Town, so if you want to get into a top restaurant, the staff can not only get you in, but sometimes, can reserve you the best seats in the house.

If you want to stay somewhere where you feel like a member of the family, and have life made easy and relaxing for you, then this spectacular boutique hotel will certainly be for you. My wife and I will return, for sure. In the meantime, we will use Atlanticview Cape town as the benchmark for boutique hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDiner2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Having been a world traveller for 40 years I thought I had experienced the best but Atlantic View Cape Town made me realise that it;'s still possible for an independant hotel to lead the way. The quality of the room and the views it offered down to Camps Bay and the ocean were spectacular. The young staff were a credit to the new South Africa and went the extra mile daily to satisfy. Perhaps not the most economical of places to stay and certainly not walking distance from the beach but the evening sundowners in the bar made one quickly forget everything and simply enjoy. My wife is now working ouit how she can go back before soccer mania takes over!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ActiveOneDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews