We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot of lunch with a view ”
Review of Umi

Umi
Ranked #20 of 54 Restaurants in Camps Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Upmarket Japanese Seafood cuisine situated in the heart of Camps Bay Beach Cape Town! We are on the second floor at the Promenade Center in Camps Bay offering fine food in modern welcoming and upmarket environment with chick atmosphere accompanied by high service standards and amazing views of the Atlantic Ocean and the Bay!
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Stopped off today for a light snack and drink after a day of sightseeing.
Came across Umi’s menu and drawn in from the street.
Gorgeous views of the beach and sea. Extremely tasty food and delicious. Ordered 3 dishes from the tapas style section and there was plenty for us both. Cocktails not as tasty as Iv had before but still good. Both food and drink at a really affordable price.
Friendly staff, very attentive and gave good explanation of the menu.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Wbloodwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you for feedback of your recent visit to Umi. Your positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving.
Glad that you enjoyed your Umi experience!

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Umi Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

White wine was very nice, lovely view, staff was pretty attentive. The flamed edamame was oily and too salty. Edamame is best when steamed in saltwater- or at least that is the traditional Japanese way to make it. Gyozu was also very oily. If the food could be improved this is a great place!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Islastyle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback and taking the time to write your review.

We would appreciate an opportunity to make it up to you upon your next visit. Please contact me directly on michellene@kovecollection.co.za

I look forward to hearing from you.

Michellene Leo
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Fantastic spot for sundowners and Tapas - outstanding service from Felix who went out of his way to accommodate us.. top class waiter and an asset to the establishment! We will be back!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank TanyaF1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you for feedback of your recent visit to Umi. Your positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving.
Glad that you enjoyed your Umi experience!

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Umi Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

We are craving for some sushi and Umi came top of the searches. The restaurant is situated on the second floor over looking over the sunset...Service is fantastic but food is a tad too salty for our liking but the view make up for everything.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you for feedback of your recent visit to Umi. Your positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving. We will share your feedback with the Executive Chef and team.

Glad that you enjoyed your Umi experience!

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Umi Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

If you struggle to choose from dishes - just ask ms Zandi - she knows everything about food/drinks and will offer you the best choice.. Best service I have had for years.

We at there twice. Both mains and deserts were perfect.

Fantastic.
Special thanks to ms Zandi for service.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leonid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you so much for the amazing feedback and fantastic rating. We are delighted that we exceeded your expectation and we will be sure to share your feedback with Zandi

We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards,
UMI Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umi also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing