We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Camps Bay Retreat(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$208
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
POD Camps Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$240
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Place on the Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marly Hotel(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$357
US$347
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$816
US$573
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Primi Seacastle Guest House(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Primi Royal(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Beach Camps Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$207
US$200
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,216)
Filter reviews
1,216 results
Traveller rating
642
296
158
64
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
642
296
158
64
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscabana roomtraders barpremier sea viewcigar barcape townlovely hotelopposite the beachtable mountaina mountain view roombreakfast servicebreakfast roomour honeymoonsuperb locationsun loungerspool decklovely roombars and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1,216 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Fantastic Hotel - excellent views, excellent staff, some quirky decor, nice food, intimate bars, nice rooms. Would thoroughly recommend. The staff even changed a flat tyre on our hire car, without even asking.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear John F,

Thank you for your review. We believe that excellent service should go beyond the doors of our hotel and we are glad to hear that was your experience as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Bay Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights at the beginning of February for a conference in town. My husband was taken ill on the BA flight over, we presume food poisoning, so he arrived in a poorly state. Kenny, the taxi driver, was very kind and brought us straight to the hotel and even rang ahead to ask if the room was ready for us. The reception staff were very helpful and got us into our room quickly. We had a ground floor room by the pool, which suited us very well, especially with my husband spending most of the weekend in bed! I had meals on my own and the staff in the bistro, the pool and the breakfast room were all so very friendly and helpful. Thank you. The breakfast room was lovely with amazing views and the food varied and tasty. The room was spacious and cleaned well and plenty of water provided. I would say that I was surprised that the towels were changed each day, as we had hung them up thinking they shouldn’t be changed, due to the water shortage. We made sure to use as little water as possible and would happily have done more to help. We were lucky that the pools were operational, however, they were very cold! I didn’t use the spa but the staff always greeted me when I walked by. We would definitely stay here again - perhaps next February when there again. Special thanks to Deon and the other pool staff.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank PClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear P Clarke,

We are sorry to hear about your husband taking ill, but glad to hear that he had a good place to recover. As well, we are happy to hear that you had a great stay despite the circumstances. We look forward to hosting you again soon when both of you are up to enjoying everything we have to offer.

Sincerely,
The Bay Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Whilst the hotel is I understand undergoing a much needed upgrade, its position and most of all its staff make this such a wonderful experience. From the greeting provided by James on arrival through to Antony and the team in the breakfast area, Chris and his team around the pool area this remains a must visit hotel. We stayed in the Cabana rooms again and had excellent service from Unati throughout our stay. It was good to see that the pool bar has re-opened which helps with the speed of service.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stevewhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Steve Whiting,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a wonderful experience and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Bay Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

In remembrance of a stunning weekend we enjoyed in early 2009 we decided to revisit the Bay hotel... we booked the same cabana room we enjoyed previously and all the communication leading up to this was dealt with promptly however my query regarding dual massage at the Mint spa which is on the property took quite a bit of effort which was not necessary...

On checking in we were faced with a new employee who was very sweet but not a-fey with the way the front of house operates which was slightly aggravating.

Checking is strictly at 2 pm.

The service at the Sandy B bar was pleasant except were were able to tell exactly who were the new employees and there were many of them running through the hotel.

The irritation again here is that they have sold off vip use of this pool area to the what seems to be the “in crowd” and finding a spot if you are a resident hotel becomes somewhat of a challenge and because the staff are familiar with the “VIP’s” it felt as though we had to take a bit of a back seat. But in saying that the energy and the vibe of the area was extremely engaging.

Booking a cabana room offers you a balcony leading to a somewhat private pool and again we were faced with challenge of there not being enough space to accommodate us which seemed quite unfair... all the chairs and sun beds were constantly taken...

The buffet breakfast was always something we had liked to boast about and now we have no reason to get excited about the quality as it has dropped phenomenally.

The Coffee again used to be superb and now we couldn’t even drink it. I know it sounds like I’m complaining about everything but I really am disappointed we were so looking forward to this and don’t get me wrong we enjoyed our stay and Staff is friendly but the quality has just dropped so badly... they don’t offer local gins??? Why NOT this place should introduce sunset gin on the deck and do fusions to entice pallets...
In saying that the strawberry daiquiris were very nice as well as the mojito that I enjoyed thoroughly...

We tried having dinner in the hotel on our last night, it’s called “Bistro”and were quite shocked. It felt like we walked into amateur hour... the seating is cafe style with plastic chairs. The staff were running around like headless chickens and when ordering drinks the staff had no clue on proper decorum of serving...

We ordered sushi to start and had to ask twice after they placed the food on the table for plates and chopsticks. The sashimi was average but very nicely presented. The other sushi dish was a prawn dish sorry forgot the name but very tasty and large portions.

We ordered the crayfish curry with Pompadoms.
This was very nice and I highly recommend it. Just a word of advice try not to handle too the shell fish with your hands as the tumeric in the dish will stain your fingers.

Checkout was handled very efficiently.





Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kalia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Kalia C,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologise that your experience was not up to the standard to which we hold ourselves. We recently hired new training officers and have new hotel management who will ensure that the level of service and quality is excellent in every area of the hotel.

Sincerely,
The Bay Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Hotel has a great location. Right opposite the beach. We Had a lovely room with great access from our room to the pool on the lower ground.
Amazing views at breakfast.
Some of the staff at front desk can be rude and lack customer service skills.
But we had a lovely relaxing stay.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Aamirahj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Aamirahj,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologise that the service you received was not to the standard to which we hold ourselves. We have recently hired new training officers and have new hotel management who will ensure that service is prompt, efficient, and friendly in all areas of the hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a relaxing stay overall.

Sincerely,
The Bay Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews