We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Steak Dinner”

The Hussar Grill Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$13
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The original Hussar Grill in Rondebosch first opened its legendary brass doors in 1964 and today, after 50 years of excellence, it is regarded as one of South Africa's premier grillrooms. We go to endless lengths every day to maintain our multiple award-winning reputation by ensuring that we only purchase the finest and best quality produce available.
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This is your perfect option for a beautiful steak experience. Dark timber finishes, white tablecloths, deep red wine and amazing meals. If you're spending time in Camps then put it on your list.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheldonG, General Manager at The Hussar Grill Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hi Lee T

We are really glad that you enjoyed our steaks which are truly the hero of our restaurant. Please pay us a return visit when you are next in Camps Bay as we really enjoyed serving you.

Thanks Again
Cheldon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 82 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

The steaks at the Hussar are outstanding. My Sirloin on the bone was memorable as was our guest's Fillet. My wife also much enjoyed her Norwegian Salmon. The ambiance and service were excellent. This was a re-visit and we'll be there again!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jpvn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheldonG, General Manager at The Hussar Grill Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hi jpvn78

We are really happy that you enjoyed your revisit to our restaurant and that all of your menu choices met your expectations. Please do not wait too long to pay us another visit as we really enjoyed serving you.

Kind Regards
Cheldon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We were looking to enjoy a steak dinner and this recommendation was perfect.
We walked up the winding road from the seafront which improved our appetite!
We received a very warm welcome on arrival. The staff were friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. They explained the cuts of meat, even bringing them on a wooden platter to the table.
Our meals were delicious, my husband tried the carpaccio of springbok which was divine and I took the prawns. For mains we had the fillet on the bone, which was very tasty and the duo of venison which was gemsbok and ostrich.
A great evening and definitely a place to try if you enjoy a good steak.

1  Thank 05KRol12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheldonG, General Manager at The Hussar Grill Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hi 05KRol12

We are really grateful that you took the time to post a review of The Hussar Grill Camps Bay and that you wrote such wonderful words. Please pay us another visit as we would really enjoy serving you again.

Many Thanks
Cheldon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

I'll keep this short and too the point.

●Oustanding customer service
●Incredible food
●Great atmosphere

1  Thank harrydavisyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheldonG, General Manager at The Hussar Grill Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Hi harrydavisyoung

A BIG Thank-You for the great review. Please come join us again as we really enjoyed hosting you.

Thanks Again
Cheldon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Reservation needed!
The food and the serive was excellent. The staff is extremley friendly.
Its just not really a good place with smaller kids, they dont even have a high chair for the baby. But without babys a great place to eat.

Thank RoGina2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheldonG, General Manager at The Hussar Grill Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Hi RoGina

Thanks for complimenting us on Tripadvisor for our food and friendly service. These kind words always go a long way in motivating our team. We look forward to a return visit from you.

Best Wishes
The Hussar Grill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hussar Grill Camps Bay also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to The Hussar Grill Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing