We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
61 On Camps Bay
Nearby Hotels
The Place on the Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camps Bay Village (Resort)(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Ocean View House(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Beach Camps Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

POD Camps Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Bay Hotel(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$143
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balfour Place Guesthouse(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crystal(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
56
38
14
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
38
14
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort walkguest housethree starcape townhonesty barsmall terracebars and restaurantsrooms were very cleansitting areawi filate checkgarden routelovely poolperfect place to staynice roomexcellent breakfastthe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

" nice friendly people the stay was for 4 nights and they organised a collection from airport and a taxi when we left to Capetown to collect our rental car for the garden route"

" it was clean sheets a small terrace room onto a sunshine patio with small pool ......breakfast was typical small B&B fare served between 8/10 but cooked to order"

" only moan we had was our patio door was left half open by the maid after cleaning which we brought to their attention not to repeat"

" we're returning to another B&B later in the month at Camps Bay so be interesting to compare both"

Stay here again yes but not on the ground floor.

Lasting memory ....friendly helpful staff.

Jac xx

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacqueline478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights on our short visit in Cape Town. I loved everything about this place! The room was nicely decorated and clean and we had a very nice sea view (we stayed in room number 1). In the room there is a fridge, complimentary coffee and tea and a fairly small safe. The bed was extremely comfortable. A takeaway dinner on the balcony with a beautiful sunset is something to remember. :)

The breakfast was lovely with yoghurt, muesli and cereals, bread, premium cheeses, selection of hams, eggs, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, muffin, juices, tea, coffee and what else. The staff is very kind and helpful. I would without a doubt recommend this hotel to others too.

This hotel is also a short walk away from the hop on hop off -bus stop. Those are a really good way to get around in Cape Town since the taxis are not that cheap. Buy the tickets online to get a discount.

Room Tip: I would pick a room with a sea view in stead of a pool view room.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Minna_Vanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I love Camps Bay and have stayed in various B&B's there over the years. 61 on Camps Bay sounded like a good option but I was a bit disappointed. I had room 2 which was one of the rooms overlooking the pool (and the sea beyond). Unfortunately the property is situated at a very busy stop street so there is a lot of road noise for most of the time. We had a shared bacon with a small table and 2 chairs but the rooms themselves are very small and feel pretty cramped.

There was a double bed and a cupboard as well as a mini bar fridge which has making a humming sound so was turned off within 30 mins. The bathroom was also small and cramped with a shower, basin and toilet but no window leading out (it did had a skylight and an extractor fan).

We were told that breakfast was from 8:00 which is fine if you are on holiday but i was down for business so had to ask for breakfast at 7:45 which they did but the fruit salad arrived after the hot breakfast and only as we were already leaving (pity as it looked nice).

I'm not sure I would stay here again mainly because of the street noise and the cramped feel of the rooms and nothing is luxurious and it all felt like it was bought on a P'nP special. While there is a safe in the room it would barely fit a large wallet - business people want to lock up their laptops as well as their cuff-links.

Room Tip: There is a converted garage downstairs that I don't think would be nice as there is no view of the sea at all.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moose-JHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

61 on Camps Bay is a lovely stay if you are looking for a simple, neat place to rest your head for a few days. If it is Camps Bay luxury you are after, this is not the place.

Some Pros: (1) The views from the rooms are spectacular and the sunset in the evening was wonderful from the room. (2) The breakfast was very good with great omelettes and and an fresh fruit to choose from. (3) The King size bed was comfortable and rooms were neatly prepared every day.

Some Cons: (1) While close to the Camps Bay strip, I would not recommend walking as it is a very steep walk back - take a cab or your own car. (2) The towels in the room were dreadful, they were extremely thin and old. (3) The television in the rooms did not work well at all and no one seemed to be able to fix it. There are also only about 3 channels available. (4) The coffee and tea in the rooms did not look like it was replenished regularly as we only had a tea spoon of very old and stale coffee in our jar when we arrived.

We stayed for two nights and it was a good stay at a simple BNB.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are much better than pool view rooms
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MegCr0sby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

Absolutely loving everything about this place...the gorgeous view from my very clean room, the excellent service from the staff (who were also willing to help me with my way around town), the breakfast...

Another plus it's only 5-10 min walk to the beach

For such a price it's definitely very cost effective for such a service in such a resort area!!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank Kudzai D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews