We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay clear”
Review of Villa Sunshine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Sunshine
Ranked #2 of 7 Bantry Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay clear”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Airport pickup did not turn up - when we finally arrived at hotel (at additional taxi expense) & brought to owners attention he responded with extreme brusqueness implying it was our fault.The room was tired and barely cleaned. Staff ( including owner & spouse) rude and unhelpful.

Whatever organisation monitors tourist accomodation in Cape Town should investigate this establishment. Its advertised star rating is a joke.

(BTW - the rest of our stay in South Africa was superb and lived up to expectations - highly recommend the Garden Route and Natal)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeeJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    62
    14
    2
    10
See reviews for
28
77
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed here for two nights and thought it was perfect. Close to great restaurants, the beach and fantastic views of table mountain. Would recommend a stay here to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jake1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Very welcoming and almost like your own lilttle space for a few nights. Great sounds from the beach nearby, cozy porch made private by a clever curtain, super comfy beds, clean, and very hospitable staff and owner. Staff helped us get a car (sorry to say you will want one). Breakfast was included and we enjoyed it, cheeses, jams, eggs to your liking, toast, tea, bacon, etc. They may ask you what time you'd like it fresh and hot! The team inquires that you are comfortable, if you need help planning, and to ensure your stay is great!
I ran each am along the beachfront and we walked the first 2 nights in the area. It is residential but parking was easy. You can walk for some dinner in Sea Point but Camp's bay not. You can take the shuttle from the bottom of the hill @ water front to the V&A, but really, I strongly recommend a car.
We were lucky enough to have a few nights as the only guests. You could possibly hear your neighbors, but everyone was respectful and kept things quiet. The only improvement was a personal opinion that the shower pressure could have been better.

Room Tip: Look behind you to see Table Mountain :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Just 5 minute walk up the hill from a beautiful seawall that makes for great walking. Room and ensuite were tidy, clean and nicely furnished. No TV in room, but a nice one in the communal living room downstairs. Everyone told us it's safe to walk during the day but not at night (anywhere in Capetown). We did this and we were fine. 2 minute walk to grocery store and ATM. Breakfast that they advertise costs extra. We didn't try it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeBeeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed for three nights in Feb 2011. The guest house is very clean and ideally situated for seeing cape town if you have a car. Very helpful staff making restaurant reservation, enquiring as to whether table mountain visibility good and suggestions for tours etc. The breakfast was served outdoors and was delicious. The honesty bar was useful to end your day with a drink on the balcony in the african sunshine enjoying sea view.. I do feel the room(6) could do with being freshly painted but apart from that had a lovely stay. Would def recommend and return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgow70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
0.2 km away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
277 reviews
0.2 km away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bantry Bay
914 reviews
0.3 km away
New Kings Hotel
New Kings Hotel
#70 of 109 in Cape Town Central
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
259 reviews
0.3 km away
Craigrownie Guest House
Craigrownie Guest House
#4 of 7 in Bantry Bay
55 reviews
0.5 km away
The Clarendon Bantry Bay
The Clarendon Bantry Bay
#1 of 7 in Bantry Bay
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sunshine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sunshine

Property: Villa Sunshine
Address: 1 Rochester Road, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sunshine 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Sunshine is a perfect base from which to explore Cape Town. The city centre; Table Mountain, The V&A Waterfront and the International Convention Centre are all within a 5km radius. Beaches and Restaurants are within walking distance. Our 7 en-suite rooms are exquisitely furnished, equipped with all the necessary amenities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Our rates also include a delicious continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Sunshine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sunshine Bantry Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing