We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
336
24
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
24
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse cape town infinity pool fantastic hosts boutique hotel stunning views amazing hotel whole team delicious breakfast mini bar our honeymoon amazing service home from home table mountain view of the ocean rooms are spacious russell
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2017

This place is cozy and exclusive, top service. The penthouse was so nice, hard to leave. I usually will search for a month when searching for a place to stay. For Cape Town I looked at most of the hotels, balancing cost and accommodations, this place really stood out.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie F, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Thank you James for the kind words, we are very glad you came to us after all your searching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

52 De Wet is an impressive modern residence that has been converted into a hotel or more accurately a B&B. The house is located in an upmarket residential area on the side of a steep hill. The views are over the sea and are spectacular.
There is limited parking available but the security guard is helpful in locating a space. The reception is a table set up inside the front door. At check in guests fill in a registration form and an imprint of a credit card taken using a prehistoric manual swipe and imprint machine.
Access to the rooms is by stairs only and may prove problematic for the elderly or handicapped.
The rooms are spacious with very modern furnishings. The beds are comfortable made with superior quality bed linen. The ensuite bathroom in room 2 was located behind sliding doors with translucent panels reminiscent of wardrobe doors. The toilet shower and washbasins were in a small open space behind the doors. Having no separate toilet may be a problem for some travellers. All the fittings and decor were of a high standard. It appeared that the ensuite was an afterthought installed when the house was converted to a public lodging.
The communal areas are modern and tastefully decorated. There is an open domestic kitchen adjoining two open lounges and one dining area. The living areas lead to a patio with impressive views of sea and town and a small swimming pool.
Drinks and snacks are available in the lounge but meals must be pre ordered well in advance. There are spa treatments available that we did not experience.

Travellers should be aware that the De Wet does not offer the convenient catering and some facilities many would expect from a hotel or upmarket B&B.

In our view the De Wet was expensive and in the view of some travellers the cost may be justified by the impression of staying in a beautifully furnished modern residence. Overall we judged it to be poor value for money when compared to other accommodations we experienced in South Africa.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Edward00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie F, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Edward. Thank you for the review of your 1 night stay with us @52, it's a real shame that you were unable to join us for our fine dining dinner or enjoy any of the snacks that we offer throughout the day (no pre order required), along with afternoon tea or the complimentary snacks during sunset. I would have hoped that some of these services would have satisfied your requirements for "convenient catering"
We strive to create a home away from home for all of our guests and i'd hate to think that this was not the experience you were looking for. In regards to value, Bantry Bay is considered to be the most exclusive area in Cape Town with wind free, panoramic views of the atlantic ocean which cannot be compared to anywhere else in the city, unfortunatley this leads to very expensive business costs and we work extremely hard to make sure that we price ourselves well within the market and offer the best value possible to all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

52 De Wet is extremely popular and is often sold out because it only has 8 rooms. Yes, it may be pricey, but the service and location of this place makes up for it. The pool view is excellent on a sunny day. The only draw back might be that it's up on a hill. But Uber's pretty affordable in the city so it ain't that bad. Stayed here for 2 nights in the big room at the bottom floor.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rvn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie F, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. The recent rise of Uber status in Cape Town has made life on the hills of Bantry Bay far easier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at 52 De Wet for 4 nights to unwind from our journey from the UK & found it the perfect place to stay. The setting looking across Bantry Bay was amazing. The staff couldn't have been more helpful & it was like staying in a private house rather than a hotel. Breakfast was superb with lots of choice & afternoon tea was always available. You need a car to stay in this location but perfect for visiting, Table Mountain, Camps Bay & The Cape of Good Hope.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Road424667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

The hotel is small but you really feel at home. The amazing view from there. the perfect breakfast. all the staff are great and helpfull. Its modern and clean. really good for couple. its far from the beach but you can walk a few blocks.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank anapaularangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie F, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review 52 De Wet.
It was a real pleasure to meet you both, I hope that when you return to Cape Town you will choose 52 De Wet again.

Kind Regards and Best Wishes,
The 52 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews