We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little pub restaurant!”

Phat Boys Beer House White River
Ranked #12 of 37 Restaurants in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Perfect lowveld setting under a gigantic fig tree in the main street. Great food with daily specials. Great beer menu offering local and imported beers as well as draft beer.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank justblipit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Family pizza night. I had the vegetarian secret and the rest had the oinker. Very good pizzas with huge toppings and value for money.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 540tiaanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Very welcoming and spacious typical South African pub with great staff, fantastic food and very good range of local beverages and craft beers.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Craft beer available on tap? 2 types. Drinks menu? No way. How is this a beer house?

Besides lacking variety of beer on tap, the wait staff are rude (in our experience at least).
Despite everyone still eating, our waitress repeatedly asked us if she can bring us takeaway containers. Weird, right?
She then told us that her shift is ending, but she will be "willing to" transfer our account to another waiter. We said that we can pay first, but she has to make sure that the following waiter comes to tend to the table. Surprise surprise, no one came.
After about 30min, we went to enquire and another waiter hurried out and apologized and blameshifted. We immediately left.
While all of this happened the place was rather empty (Saturday afternoon) and the staff were all sitting around on the tables watching rugby.
Probably won't go back.
Food was good.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Cathrine04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Great food, good selection of beer and our waiter added to the whole experience by impressing us with his ability to remember our order - we were a table of 9 noisy loud people who all enjoyed the day

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phat Boys Beer House White River also viewed

White River, Mpumalanga
White River, Mpumalanga
 
White River, Mpumalanga
 
White River, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Phat Boys Beer House White River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing