We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place with good food, quality and service ”
Review of Magnolia

Magnolia
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: MAGNOLIA RESTAURANT & CAFE A Breath of Fresh Air on the White River and South African Culinary Scene Situated opposite the Casterbridge Hollow Boutique Hotel, Magnolia Restaurant & Cafe is a breath of fresh air on the White River and South African culinary scene. Inspired by rural French charm, it offers a sophisticated yet relaxed taste of the best the region has to offer. Unique in the diversity its multi-dimensional interior provides, it is simultaneously a romantic, intimate experience with inspirational views over the surrounding landscape; a relaxed outdoor venue set in gorgeously manicured gardens, or an upmarket business venue – perfect for large parties or small, informal get-togethers, vibrant cocktail parties, family gatherings or special occasions. The split-level interior and upstairs veranda create an interior with indoor-outdoor flow, a welcome breeze on hot summer’s days and delightful visual interest. The main restaurant is situated upstairs with a mezzanine level, which, with fantastic natural light, makes it ideally suited to private functions. Magnolia’s indulgent menu, created by leading chefs, is inspired by the use of fresh local ingredients – so whatever is in season makes it onto the menu. Meals are accompanied by a superb selection of South African wines, and rounded off with the most decadent desserts. The unique decor is a treat in itself... rustic, yet elegant – with a European twist. The quirky unexpected accents (most of which were made locally) and attention to detail create a pleasing and layered scene to be peeled away and explored bit by bit.
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

We have gone here for dinner and our waiter Bongani and the rest of the staff provided us an excellent service and delicious food with new flavors for us; we ordered ostrich carpaccio, kudu filet and local fish.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank VeraJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia W, Waiter at Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Hi Mr .

Thanks for the great review. Greetings to your lovely wife Ana.

from Bongani and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

What na experience! Besides the fact that the food and wine is mindblowing, the service is the cherry on the pie. Basil is a really good waiter. But Chris is that cherry! He has amazing stories and his enthousiasm is great! Thank you all of the Magnolia people for AGAIN this great experience! Kind regards

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Awesome! Great service and very nice place. Not that expensive. We had the antipasti, spare ribs and apple pie for dessert.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank Idan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia W, Manager at Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Hi Idan D

Thanks for the review. Happy that you enjoyed the great food and excellent service.
Thanking you from
The Magnolia Buds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

My husband and I visited Magnolia last night for dinner. It was such a peaceful evening. The waiting staff was exceptional, very professional and kind. Our server was named Fresh Basil, he did an excellent job and exceeded our expectations. We ordered the Prawn Linguine, prawn sushi, and for dessert we had the apple and pear pie. All was very delicious. I am very happy with my experience there, and I would recommend the restaurant, the food, and our server, Fresh Basil, to anyone! Thank you!

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia W, Server at Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Hi Alison
Thanks for the great review. Were very happy you enjoyed yourselves.
Hope to see you soon.
Fresh Basil and the Magnolia team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Great food great service great ambiance well done Justin and Chris thanks for looking after us. Can't wait to come back.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia W, Manager at Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you Gillian T for your review and Joining us for an early supper at Magnolia. Good luck with the golf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magnolia also viewed

 
White River, Mpumalanga
 
White River, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing