We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
11
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskruger national parkzebraroamingprivacysafaripropertyfacilitiesbathroom
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018

After our 7-hour drive from Johannesburg Muluwa Lodge was a welcome, comfortable respite. Where shall I begin? We were greeted with warm towels and juice upon our arrival. Our bags were taken down to our "tents" for us. These tents are amazing! Spring for a tent instead of a room, if possible. They went all-out on these tents -- A/C if you want it, ceiling fans, bathroom with his and her sink, a vanity with plenty outlets, privacy commode and a spacious shower with great water pressure (now I wish I would've taken a photo of the bathroom!). The in-room coffee with tea kettle and french press were a nice touch. Our bed and pillows were very comfortable. We had a nice view from our deck but wished we had had two chairs and a small table to sip our coffee outside.
The grounds of the lodge are pretty amazing. Each tent sits far enough apart that you feel like you have some privacy -- and they are down a small hill away from the main lodge. The main lodge is comfortable (with wi-fi if you need it) and the staff was friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the braa (sp?) -- or BBQ -- in the boma (in the round, by the fire) on our first night. Who would've thought that seared blue wildebeest would be so tasty! The chef knows what he is doing -- everything was exquisitely prepared. They sent us out on on safari the satisfying packed breakfasts, as well.
Safety here is not an issue. The perimeter is either walled or fenced and there is a guard at the gate that is kept closed. Once on the property, there are kudu, giraffes and zebra, to name a few, just roaming around. It's pretty exciting if you aren't used to that sort of thing!

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Princess012472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingTZ, Guest Relations Manager at Muluwa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Muluwa, in your luxury safari tent, and appreciated our beautiful setting in nature!
You have a very good point about the chairs on the deck, and this is something that we are considering for the future.
The braai ( almost got the spelling right!), is always appreciated, nothing like dining out under the stars, and with one of our traditional South African experiences. We will definitely pass on your lovely comments to our chef and kitchen team.

Thanks for choosing to stay at Muluwa Lodge, and even more so, for taking the time to write this great review.

All the best,
The Muluwa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Our "tent" had very comfortable beds, plenty of room, electrical outlets, private toilet, and splash-out showers! The best was how the staff treated us by bringing our bags down to our tent. The meals included the best meat dish I've ever had - wildebeast cooked to order. We even were made box lunches for our excursions. There was a lovely pool and , of course, the wildlife was free and happy to run on the property. Class A resort all the way!

Room Tip: There are luxury "rooms" and then there are luxury "tents". Make sure you know which you are staying in .
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dralice2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingTZ, Guest Relations Manager at Muluwa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you very much for this 5star review of Muluwa Lodge, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We will let our chef Mike and his team, know about your comment about his Wildebeest, they love to get feedback from guests.

Your feedback is highly appreciated, and welcomed. Thanks for taking the time to write it, and for visiting us at Muluwa.

Take care, and hope to see you back at the lodge one day soon.

From the Team at Muluwa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

The reserve was pleasant and quite close to the airport and ideal for a stay over.
Service was good and the dinner and breakfast included.
The meals were simple but acceptable.
The coffee press in the unit was a waste of time. A good coffee machine should be standard issue at this price level.
The view from the unit is stunning and very private. The unit was very tight though.
Definitely enjoyed our stay and will recommend it.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Campbellza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingTZ, Online manager at Muluwa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for you staying with us, and more importantly than you for your open and honest feedback, which is always very much appreciated, and essential for our further improvement of our product and service.

It seems you stayed in one of our 3 categories of accommodation, the luxury safari tents, which are our smaller units at 26sqm each, versus our superior rooms at 40sqm and our luxury suites at 45sqm. We designed the safari tents as such to have as little impact as possible on the environment, and to also use the space to give a sizable bathroom area for a tent, which we realise is also important for guest experience.

We hope that the view and privacy made up for the size of the luxury tents! Hopefully we can welcome you back one day in the future to experience one of our Superior or luxury suites to compare.

Thank you for the very valuable comments, and for recommending Muluwa Lodge.
Have a great day and we hope you enjoy the upcoming long weekend.

The Muluwa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here recently for two nights. The lodge is beautiful, peaceful, and perfect for a getaway. We had half board so breakfast and dinner were included, the staff were even so good to pack us up some breakfast to take on our safari day as it was an early start. The food in the lodge was top quality, no less than whet you find in a good hotel restaurant.
Staff were very helpful, polite and nothing seems too much trouble.
They organised transfers to and from the airport and also our safari game drive, and even took us on an impromptu nature walk around the property on the morning we were leaving.
We would def recommend the Muluwa lodge and would happily stay again. It’s around 40 mins to the Kruger gate so handy for game drives/safari.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Loh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingTZ, Public Relations Manager at Muluwa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thank you so very much for this excellent review of Muluwa Lodge, and for choosing to stay with us.
We will pass on all your lovely comments to the team members.

We hope to welcome you back to Muluwa Lodge again one day in the future.

Thank you again,
From all of the team at Muluwa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Our stay here more than exceeded our expectations ! It was our first time Glamping in 4-star tents with all the necessary comfort and lovely decoration, the food was delicious with the warm touch of homemade cuisine, the view over the valley and mountains from the pool is just gorgeous, the staff was so friendly and extremely helpful in arranging activities for us, AND the big highlight of our stay : we saw so many animals here right next to the pool or our tent, monkeys zebras nyalas and so on, and we even got close and personal to giraffes ! It was just magical. Why go on a safari when you can just relax here in Mulawa lodge and meet these guys!
We can't wait to come back.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Leny11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingTZ, Public Relations Manager at Muluwa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hello Leny,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, and taking the time to write it. Comments like this are invaluable to us.
We are definitely one of those types of lodges/accommodation that you will only fully appreciate when you visit, as we are sure you will agree.

We sincerely hope that you will be back again in the future.
Thank for choosing Muluwa.

Take Care,
The Muluwa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews