We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
37
85
34
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
85
34
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews check in was quick and efficient kruger national park clean hotel both breakfast and dinner housekeeping staff last minute booking restaurant staff business or pleasure a nice place to stay comfortable stay room was spacious stayed for one night friendly service reception mozambique maintenance stopover
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2017

I was a bit disappointed with this hotel as it was advertised as being 4 star which was an exaggeration based on my experience. A 4 star hotel should have a fridge and iron in the room which this one didn't. It should also have a decent wi-fi system which was pretty ordinary in this hotel.
To its credit the room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The dinner smorgasbord was reasonable and the service quite good. What was disappointing was breakfast which was expensive and had pretty ordinary choices. I felt that is was far too pricey in comparison to similar hotels I have experienced.
The hotel has some good features but it sure isn't 4 star.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tholland55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrick G, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Dear tholland55

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us.

As we always strive to exceed our Guests expectations, i have noted down these points and will consider implementing these in future.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in future.

King Regards
Garrick Grabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Comfortable spacious rooms, friendly service, wonderful breakfast and supper buffets, conveniently located opposite a shopping mall, lovely pool and garden for lunch on the patio. My children loved it!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

This was a convenient stopover on the way to the Kruger Park. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet.
We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and the service was efficient. The food was adequate but nothing to rave about rave about.

Room tip: They o have wheel chair friendly rooms
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johnherm2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

The Protea Hotel is quite centrally located in Nelspruit, it is about a 20 min drive from the airport. The cost of airport transfer is R450.

Check in was quick and efficient.

I was in a room with two double beds. Room 323. The sleep quality was terrible. I could hear almost every everything happening in the room next door. As well as all the people walking in the passage. The walls are too thin. Despite this the room itself was comfortable.

Otherwise breakfast was good the next morning.

We also had a workshop in one of the conference rooms and the service here was just a bit lazy. At 9am when we started not all the tables had water, similarly the change over at tea took a while.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Sunshine0789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this lodge.
The room was very nice and the bathroom was comforting.
We had breakfast and dinner and the food was excellent. The grounds were secure and there was a guard on duty all nite. They don't have an elevator so you may need to ask for a ground floor room.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lsobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews