We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service ever”

John Dory's Riverside Mall
Ranked #42 of 99 Restaurants in Nelspruit
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Ahoy Me Mateys! Join us at Nelspruit John Dory's - the best seafood restaurant that the whole family can enjoy! Our menu has an ocean of choices for all our seafood lovers! From fresh hand-rolled sushi to tempura battered fish & chips. Shiver your timbers! Our catch of the day, prawns, calamari and fresh oysters are a reason to abandon ship and come ashore! Our kids' menu has a variety of yummy meals for our young mateys too and we also have a cool kids' play area with boatloads of fun activities for little sailors! What are you waiting for? Dock your boat at John Dory's in Nelspruit for arrr-mazing food and service.
Restaurant details
Description: Ahoy Me Mateys! Join us at Nelspruit John Dory's - the best seafood restaurant that the whole family can enjoy! Our menu has an ocean of choices for all our seafood lovers! From fresh hand-rolled sushi to tempura battered fish & chips. Shiver your timbers! Our catch of the day, prawns, calamari and fresh oysters are a reason to abandon ship and come ashore! Our kids' menu has a variety of yummy meals for our young mateys too and we also have a cool kids' play area with boatloads of fun activities for little sailors! What are you waiting for? Dock your boat at John Dory's in Nelspruit for arrr-mazing food and service.
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

I recently visited John Dory’s at Riverside Mall and was appalled at the lack of service. We waited for 20 minutes just for beers and wine, while the food took 1.5 hours to arrive. Some of the food we had ordered didn’t come at all and some sushi orders were mixed up so we ended up having to share. The wasabi and ginger was just dumped on one big plate for everyone to share. When asked to speak to the manager named Precious, she took over from the waiter but never apologised. Just took 10% off the bill and that was it. The food itself was good but 1.5 hours for sushi on a weekday when only a few tables are occupied is unacceptable. Will definitely not be back and cannot recommend this restaurant to anyone. It is the worst service I have ever received in Nelspruit or anywhere else in SA.

Thank jessican946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory's Riverside Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear jessican946,

Thank you for taking the time to review our John Dory's Nelspruit Restaurant. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of service we pride ourselves on.

If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@johndorys.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and hopefully turn it around.

Kind regards,
John Dory's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017

Took the grandchildren with. The Play area needs attention. The climbing wall was in disrepair. No provision for older children, aged 12 and over ...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ingwe1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory's Riverside Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Ingwe1957,

Thank you for your review of John Dory's Nelspruit, We are sorry to hear that this was your experience. We'll certainly inform management to ensure that any necessary changes are made.

We look forward to have you and your grandchildren back again soon!

Kind regards,
John Dory's Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We have frequented your restaurant pretty often and our general experience has been quite pleasant. However, today's experience was sadly lacking on absolutely every front. We choose to sit outside and I had to go and find a waiter to serve us. The banter going on behind the drop down blinds could not be ignored due to noise levels of interaction by your staff amongst themselves which clearly resulted in the lack of attention to your customers.

The Cajun calamari was serioulsy overspiced and the salmon on my sushi deserved a proper burial instead of being presented the way it was. Shoo, I have never ever seen such seriously aged "fresh salmon"!

Furthermore, please train your staff to serve and collect plates from the correct side! That was the last straw today!

Thank Alocalview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory's Riverside Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Alocalview,

Thank you for taking the time to review John Dory's Nelspruit. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of service & food quality we pride ourselves on.

We would appreciate the opportunity to get in touch with both you and the store's management team. Please email us your contact details along with a copy of this review to customer-care@johndorys.co.za.

Kind regards,
John Dory's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

It is now the second time that we went to JD's and that half the wine on the small wine list is out of stock and three quarter of the menu consists of calamari strips ....and then they tell us it is out of stock...BUT.. they have calamari tubes...really.......

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 702bennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory's Riverside Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear 702bennie,

Thank you for taking the time to review John Dory's Nelspruit. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of service we pride ourselves on.

We would appreciate the opportunity to get in touch with both you and the store's management team. Please email us your contact details along with a copy of this review to customer-care@johndorys.co.za.

Kind regards,
John Dory's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We were at this restaurant when they had the fish and chips special, which was excellent value for money. The food was tasty and the service was good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gibbsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory's Riverside Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear Gibbsfamily,

Thank you for taking the time to review our John Dory's Nelspruit Fish, Grill & Sushi Restaurant, we appreciate your feedback. We're thrilled to hear that the food & service was a hit! Hope you come dine with us again soon, as we have a few specials that you can try.

Kind regards,
JD's Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Dory's Riverside Mall also viewed

 
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
 

Been to John Dory's Riverside Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing