We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
22
10
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
10
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pork belly a real gem malelane gate kruger park trevor garden lodge
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Stayed 1 night after 2 days in Kruger National Park. The first impression is how remote it is - 2km off the main road down a very sensible concrete track (not sure what would have happened if we'd met someone coming the other way though). Amazing scenery - on the side of a valley, with views across it, plus lots of trees, flowers, grass, surrounding the lodge. The buildings and rooms were full of character, with plenty of space, good quality furniture, antiques in the building. It's a small business so dont expect to be waited on hand and foot - staff multi-task and you may have to go find someone if you need assistance. That said we had no problem checking in and settling in. The bar looks out on to the gardens (or rain forest in our case) and runs on the honour system. There is a fixed menu (so if you have special requirements or dislikes you should mention them early enough to give the chef time to prepare an alternative. We had an excellent chicken dish cooked in a local style and the dessert was so yummy I ate it before I realised it had orange in it (which I never usually eat).
A special shout out to the F&B manager/barman/maitre D/etc, who regaled us with his tales of spiders and snakes, among other things
Apparently they have a music festival in September, which is a good excuse to return!

Room tip: they are all good! but some are down hill from the main building
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie J, Owner at Hamiltons Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you Richard for your lovely review of our establishment & overall experience. We are glad you had a great stay with us! I think that would of been Jeramiah telling you the stories - so glad you got to enjoy time with our staff. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

My wife and I just stayed at Hamiltons last night. We've stayed here a few times. Being someone who visits the Kruger quite often, I can confidently say Hamilton's lodge and restaurant in Malelane is one of the best luxury accommodation you will find near the park. Great value for money. Superb cleanliness. Excellent service. 4 star luxury. Less than 1km from the Kruger Malelane gate. What more could 1 ask for. Keep up the great work Debbie and team!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NabeelH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Quando fizemos check in, perguntamos se poderíamos fazer late check out uma vez que o safari do dia seguinte terminaria as 12h e pretendíamos tomar um banho, arrumar as nossas coisas e só depois sair.
O pedido foi aceite.
Nesse dia jantamos no lodge e no final do jantar a proprietária do lodge veio nitidamente alterada nos solicitar a chave do quarto para abrir o portão de acesso aos quartos. Pedido no mínimo estranho.
No dia seguinte chegamos do safari e temos a proprietária do lodge na entrada do quarto a informar que tinham embalado as nossas coisas uma vez que tinham clientes para entrar.
Mexeram em tudo o que era nosso sem qualquer aviso nem explicação lógica.

When we made the check in, we asked if we could do late check out since the safari the next day would end at 12pm and we intended to take a shower, pack our things and then leave.
The request was accepted.
That day we arrived we dined at the lodge and by the end of the dinner the owner of the lodge came up sharply asking us for the room key to open the access door to the rooms. Request at least strange.
The next day we arrived from the safari and got the lodge owner at the entrance of the room to inform us that they had packed our things once they had guests to enter.
They moved on everything that was ours without any warning or logical explanation.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TiagoG1841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

This is a little gem with great staff and great food. The rooms are neat and with aircons for those hot days in the bush. The Malelane Gate is only 1 km away. There is a pool and good birdlife in the garden. The restaurant makes delicious food and service with a smile.
The only small thing I have to say, is , that there was no adaptor for the hairdryer and the wifi keeps going on and off.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreasThieme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GayleHDW, Guest Relations Manager at Hamiltons Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time and posting a lovely review. I'll pass the info on to Debbie Tod about the adaptor and ask if there was a problem with the wifi this past week. Next time, just holler and someone will find you an adaptor. Look forward to having you back in the not-too-distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is a real gem. Situated right next to the Malelane gate it provides instant access to the Kruger Park. Our room was lovely and spacious with a modern feel and extremely clean and fresh. All of the rooms have patio doors that open out onto a grassed pool area which was very quiet when we stayed there. It felt like we were in our own, albeit, large back garden. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They made us feel like family. Finally the restaurant.... this served up consistently great food. All in all this is a great place to stay and we will definitely be back soon!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 2610katel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GayleHDW, Guest Relations Manager at Hamiltons Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

What great feedback - we loving hearing how much people love Hamiltons Lodge and how well our staff are doing. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews