We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's dinner with no Electricity and they managed pretty well!”
Review of Tanks Bush Pub

Tanks Bush Pub
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Description: A small, friendly bush pub serving drinks and great fare at very reasonable prices. Served al fresco under a tarpaulin on a wooden deck. If you enjoy a rustic setting with great food, then this restaurant is for you.
Restaurant details
Description: A small, friendly bush pub serving drinks and great fare at very reasonable prices. Served al fresco under a tarpaulin on a wooden deck. If you enjoy a rustic setting with great food, then this restaurant is for you.
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We booked Tanks for dinner on the 31st Dec for our group of 21 pax. We were greeted by a frantic looking manager/owner who explained that the electricity had gone out and although they could still feed us, the menu had been reduced to burgers, steak and salad. Luckily we are easily pleased and this sounded like a good plan. Unfortunately, the food turned out to be pretty average but we had a good time with friendly staff and we were thankful for food in our bellies, despite no electricity.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shanehodges55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeSpeed, Owner at Tanks Bush Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you for choosing Tanks for your new year start of festivities. As you mentioned, the power was out due to a tree blown over during the bad weather. Unfortunately this did impact on our food, as we had very little to cook with and had to improvise with a (bush plan) or two, which did not quite work out as planned. However, we're glad you enjoyed the rest of your experience and hope to see you all again soon so we can show you what we usually deliver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

If you go by appearance, you won't stop here. But the food is well worth the stop. I would definitely recommend the steak as well as the chicken wings. The service was friendly and put you right at ease. We will be back!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank cathyd2252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeSpeed, Owner at Tanks Bush Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're delighted that you stopped here and that you enjoyed it so much. We will be revamping a little as soon as the season is finished. Watch this space!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Don't be put off by your initial reaction. You will receive a friendly welcome and there is a great range of beer to try. My highlight being the local Sabie Beer. The kitchen shuts at 8 so don't get caught by that one which we did. We came back the next night a lot earlier and had a starter to share and then had the hot chicken wings. They were really good and the rest of my family had different types of burgers. We really enjoyed it and we weren't left hungry!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank MattLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeSpeed, Owner at Tanks Bush Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for your review and giving us a second chance to try our menu when the kitchen was open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

Really cool place. A must visit if you want to chill and have a couple of beers. Don't let the place fool you, food is out of the top shelf. Best rump steak I have ever had. A must if you in hazyview or in the area.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank RupertB141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeSpeed, Owner at Tanks Bush Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for your review. We're glad you both enjoyed your visits here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Love the feel of the pub, amazing food and great service!
The steak is a must have. One of the best, if not the best steak i have ever had. Hats off to the Owner and the chef's.

Thanks Roxanne for the great service!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank XanS_Banner947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraemeSpeed, Owner at Tanks Bush Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for a great review. We have passed on your compliments to Roxy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tanks Bush Pub also viewed

 

Been to Tanks Bush Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing