We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
119
19
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
19
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sauna and jacuzzi small luxury hotel selection of wines old trees incredible food service excellence the main house african wines hidden away rooms are beautifully decorated full body massage beautiful garden rose petals sitting room kruger park out of this world welcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

My partner and i stayed at Highgrove house to enjoy some much needed peace and quiet and we definitely picked the right place! Beautiful surroundings and our executive suit was amazing. The staff were very discreet and at the same time very attentive,the food was delicious and we can't thank you all enough for such a special time. My partner wrote a review and mistakenly did a 4 star review instead of 5 star, if we could give 10/10 we would.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

I stayed with my partner for 4 nights and from the onset the service was amazing and all the staff were very accommodating to our needs. It's a truly special place to seek privacy and isolation and have a truly romantic time. The food was excellent and all the staff were very friendly. We would just like to say thank you to everyone and we will definitely be returning. Amanda and Shawn

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank capewena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Good day Amanda and Shawn,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Highgrove House. We truly appreciate your comments with regards to the personal service and have passed your message on to the staff! We are happy that you enjoyed your special time with your partner in your exclusive private suite.

We will definitely pass on your comments with regards to the food to our Chefs - this certainly helps with positivity and creativity in the kitchen when they know that their efforts are rewarded and praised.

We cannot wait to welcome you back for a return visit soon.

Kind regards,
Kathy Russell and all the staff at Highgrove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

We decided that we would have a biking tour to see the beautiful Mpumalanga. The road are fantastic from what we had heard. (This is True breath taking)
On route to the 5 Star Highgrove Hotel (however it’s a 7 star in treatment and in its staff and owner Kathy) we go in a bit of rain and fog – Still an amazing experience since this was my 1st time.

When we go to the place after getting lost –( you have to understand that it’s raining and muddy and night time) Steward, Kathy’s husband (owner of the hotel) drive to our aid, they ensure we are safe and give up world class care. Never have I experienced such treatment in any 5 star hotel.

To keep us warm there was a fireplace waiting for us with Cherry catered to our every need. Breakfast amazing, Dinner the best you can ever find “Chefs” at their best. Kathy’s Staff amazing at top form. All of them equally from the cleaner to the lady at reception to the team waiting on you

Beautiful scenery – out of this world – Beautiful Spa treatments – excellent picnic spot.

The best Holiday by far – pity it was 3 nights only.

Room tip: All rooms are great - terrace - stunning
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _tmkwenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Highgrove House. We are really overwhelmed by your positive comments with regard to our service as we do pride ourselves on delivering personal excellent service.

We have passed on your comments to the Chefs with regards to the food and they are extremely happy that their efforts are acknowledged too!

Highgrove does have very beautiful and tranquil gardens and we were so glad to organise your 'surprise' picnic and that you enjoyed it.

The SPA is also one of our highlights and really pleased you managed to include a treatment in your short stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

Excellent Lunch, though with our Tour Booking, it meant we ate as soon as we arrived, not that long after breakfast. Lovely food in a gorgeous setting.
The Garden is amazing and we were taken very close to the House, which surprised me.
Fascinating to see how the garden has evolved and keen to return.

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to Highgrove. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the food and the gorgeous setting and garden which makes us proud.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kathy Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

What a awesome place. Wonderful setting such a warm feeling and so peaceful. Views that will take your breath away. Such amazing staff and so helpful and friendly. Food better than you could imagine defnitly something to remember it's trully a little gem. I would recommend this beautiful place to all far and near

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Kyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you so much for your amazing review of Highgrove House. We really appreciate your positive comments with regards to food and staff at the Lodge. We are also pleased that you enjoyed the tranquil setting and lush gardens of the lodge.

We cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kathy Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews