We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
118
18
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
18
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna and jacuzziselection of winesincredible foodthe main houseafrican winesbeautiful gardenrose petalssitting roomfull body massagehidden awaystayed longerthree nightspanorama routeblyde river canyonlucindaavocadosuite
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We travel a great deal - it is easy for me to say that Highgrove House is a very special place. Great attention to detail for all the finishings, but also the same level of attention to the service. All in a beautiful setting. We were there for two nights, but I would have loved it to have been more ! You can tell the owner stays very involved in the property. Very well done on what she has created there.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your compliments to the entire TEAM! As the owner, I am very proud of Highgrove and my entire staff and glad we could share this piece of paradise with you. We are looking forward to your next visit - hopefully this will be soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We stopped in for just one night en route to Timbavati game reserve and were bowled over by the characterful charm of this sympathetically refurbed old farm house. The setting is exquisite and our family suite massive with a separate lounge, balcony (veranda), huge en-suite with an outdoor shower. Food was outstanding.

I have no hesitation giving a 5* rating for a 5* establishment. One little niggle was the service was a little too attentive at times. Our evening meal was unnecessarily interrupted a couple of times to check we were OK. I freely admit I did not raise it with management during our visit as it's being somewhat nit-picky.

Wish we had stayed longer. The walk through the grounds was great after a long-ish day travelling.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and all your expectations were met. We value your comments on the service during dinner and this will be addressed. Your positive comments will be passed on to our TEAM. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Absolutely stunning spot with incredible facilities and staff that looked after every inch of our stay and made it the perfect evening. The room was exceptional and beyond our wildest dreams. Amazing food and incredible hospitality. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michelleaF2382WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our 2 night stay at Highgrove. We arrived late due to problems at the SA/MOZ border and where afraid we would not make it in time for dinner. Lucinda the Assistant Manager had dinner ready in our room in front of the fireplace upon our arrival; it’s these details that make a difference.
My wife used the Spa and enjoyed her experience very much. The rooms are very well appointed, the fireplace smokes beautifully. I must also congratulate the Chef as the food was also excellent. Very good value for money. Well done Highgrove team. A special thank you to Lucinda and Mr. Cossa at the Restaurant and Bar.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diogo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

From the moment you arrive you're made to feel at home. Something I've never felt at any other 5 star accommodation. You could probably be forgiven for turning up for breakfast in your pyjamas. Friendly staff, friendly siamese cat, incredible food, beautiful gardens and scenery. You'd be silly not to stay here on your Kruger holiday.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BrendanB1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathyrussell, Owner at Highgrove House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Thank you for your very kind words. It is definitely our aim to take complete care of you during your stay - including our cat, Minky. It was only a pleasure hosting you and the entire TEAM at Highgrove look forward to your next visit - hopefully soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews