We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
aha Casa do Sol(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hippo Hollow Country Estate(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Laughing Waters Guest House(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 54% below average rates

The price you found is 54% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$520/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aan de Vliet(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bambuu Lakeside Lodge(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dreamfields Guesthouse(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
193
21
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
21
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon cottagegreat danespanorama routeinterior designerstone cottageoverlooking the mountainsattending a weddingunpaved roadkruger parkgreat bedself cateringbreakfasts were greatplunge poolgreat tipsthe main housewished we had stayed longerjumping off point
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We stayed at Ashbourne this March and had the most amazing time.
Rob and his wife Dawn along with Erica met us and showed us around, the views were amazing, so we’re the rooms - we had a suite which we were not really expecting!
Ashbourne is so close to the Kruger, Panorama route, coffee plantations, and so many more attractions. There’s white water rafting and zip lines close by for the more adventurous.
The food was good home cooked and very reasonable, Becki the chef and the other staff were so accomodating and really lovely.
My husband and myself could not fault it.
Rob was so knowledgeable about the area, as was Erica.
Loved the wine in the evenings sitting out in the courtyard with the dogs and the chats with everyone before dinner.
I cannot fault this place it’s unique and fab.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Stayed 3 nights while doing 2 days of safari at Kruger and exploring the Panorama Route. Everyone at Ashbourne was very friendly, especially Rob and Dawne, who went out of their way to make us feel welcome each day. The family cottage was very spacious and comfortable and perfect for self-catering. Due to our early mornings and long days, we did not get to spend as much time as we would have liked on the property, but it was a perfect home base for our adventures. And there was a beautiful view right out the front door of the cottage!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank llibera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lwabi, Front Office Manager at Ashbourne Country Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Ilibera

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, and for taking the time to write it.....it makes all our hard work really worthwhile when it is appreciated. Having great guests, as yourselves, also makes it easy to go the extra mile.
We certainly hope our paths cross again soon.
Have a lovely day!
Kind regards
Erica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

At last we have found a place we can go back to .We went for a week self catering in honeymoon cottage had own plunge pool great views . Went into Kruger at 5 30 every morning then came back to relax very piece full and quite no one bothers you .Got to look round the other rooms all are great.A welcome bottle of wine on arrival .Cant fault anything about this place Wonderful .We will be back

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank jill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Ashbourne is truly a unique place. We visited with a group of 6 people and every step of the visit was lovely. The welcome of Rob (and the dogs) was very warm, and he helped us with great tips (visit the Lison Waterfalls and walk down all the way) through our stay. The breakfast and dinner was delicious and the views from Ashbourne are breath taking. I can only recommend this place, thank you so much for making this an unforgettable stay Rob

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DavidColoury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

WOW, what a place!

Such amazing, friendly and helpful hosts! The guesthouses and apartments are very well decorated with a large bathroom, big beds with mosquito nets, a small private swimming pole, a bbq and that amazing view that never gets old! We only wished we could've stayed here longer.

As for the breakfast (and optional dinner), both simple but amazing. As a coeliac I always have to wonder how well people understand the severity of the condition, but both Rob and Dawne took every measure to ensure my stay would be as enjoyable as any other. Please do take Rob's advice and check out Lisbon falls. Aside from the beautiful view of the waterfall, you can actually walk down (a bit of an (exciting) hike, so wear good shoes!) and swim in the waterfall! Nobody does this and wow, it is a treasure! Aside from the safari this was honestly the biggest WOW factor of our stay in South-Africa.

Cudos to both Rob and Dawne and their amazing pack of Great Danes (Gordon, Aggie, Eddie and (lab) William, we miss you all!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view, the sunsets are breathtaking!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews