We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Mess”

Summerfields Kitchen
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 10 January 2018

My birthday is on the 1st of Jan. My partner had organized dinner for us on the day. We got a call on the 1st around 2pm to inform us that the restaurant was going to be closed. Knowing that this is a public holiday, it meant we couldn't eat anywhere as most places were closed. So I ended up sleeping hungry on my birthday. The owner/ manager couldn't have cared. He was so blaze' about the issue. Making the worst excuses. So unprofessional.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nokuthula_khumalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

At Summerfields Cafe we had lunch, tables nicely situated at the bank of the river. Great service from Lawrence, good menu, we had tapas from the farm (vegi) and Lamb curry. Accompanied by a suprising blend white wine Peloton Blanc 2016. Very nice and comfortable place to lunch.

Thank Willem Luuk N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrevanHeerden, Manager at Summerfields Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Willem Luuk N

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at the River Cafe

It was a pleasure hosting you and the staff are delighted by your kinds words

We look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Great food, very good: the quail was magnificent as was the sole (the ostrich was fine) but the desserts and service could be (much) better.

You NEVER serve the plates when one of the guest is off to the WC (where you have to go outside down slippery stairs in the rain for without any umbrella). The waiter also kept calling the house red “cabernet sauvignon blanc”...

We also felt less welcome than the local guests....

Apart from this, flying colours!

Thank Leon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Great venue with a limited choice on the menu. Well worth having one dinner for the experience. I just did not have the best ostrich fillet meal, but the fish which my Mrs had was very good.

Thank Sergio99Lopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrevanHeerden, Manager at Summerfields Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sergio99Lopez

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of you time and experience at the Summerfields Kitchen.


It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Three of us had dinner there tonight & it was delightful - from the gate keeper, to the waiter service, to the ambience & the food.
The venison tartare, the salad & the Norwegian salmon starters were all good & the Sole & Seafood risotto were excellent. We had the delicious lime pannacotta to finish.

A thoroughly enjoyable dinner.

Thank RKLEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrevanHeerden, Manager at Summerfields Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear RKLEH,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of you experience at the Summerfields Kitchen

The staff are delighted by your kind words and it was a pleasure hosting you

We look forward to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Summerfields Kitchen also viewed

 
Hazyview, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Summerfields Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing