We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
334
86
25
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
86
25
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river beautiful roses swedish massage macadamia nut tented suite relaxing massage treatment rooms out of this world main restaurant bath and shower close to nature would recommend this place to anyone dinner menu relaxing place wine list sabi sands hazyview area
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018

A wonderful place to visit or stay; the food at this place is truly wonderful, everything is done with panache and class; most definitely an eating experience, lunch is more relaxed while dinner is a must if you are staying in the Hazyview area, much loved and will return as often as possible.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sack_juliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

Summerfields rose retreat & spa is just pure luxury... The staff are all so kind and helpful... They cant do enough for you...
Their onsite restaurant is absolutely amazing and so is the breakfast area which looks over the river!
The resident monkeys are adorable to watch and their resident cats will quite happily lay on your bed and sleep with you! haha
We will definitely visit Summerfields again without a doubt.

Thank you for making our stay the best ever!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Unfortunately, this being my third time visiting Summerfields (both the spa, restaurant/s and accommodation) and I was honestly very disappointed. Upon check in, we received no room key nor were we informed when dinner and breakfast starts or at which restaurant which meal would be served. This created quite some confusion as when we asked where breakfast is served we were directed to the restaurant but breakfast was served at the river cafe. The service at the river cafe was overall extremely poor and slow, as we were the only table seated and had to ask for our drinks order to be taken as the two waitresses on duty were no where to be found, even after seating us. Dinner at the restaurant on our second evening I was given a dirty material serviette which still had food on it. On our second spa day we were given a specific time at which our treatments would start, we waited for half an hour and still not one spa therapist on duty could ask or take us to the area where our treatments would be done, if we did not ask someone to please assist us we would probably have waited at the reception area of the spa fr the entire day. Overall for the money we spent and considering that it IS a five star spa i would have expected more. I will not visit Summerfields again as this was not the first time the service was a let down, and the shocking part is that the service actually worsened quite drastically over the years.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bianca106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

The environment and staff is just wonderful. A relaxing and friendly stay to unwind from the daily hassle of life. Areal gem in the Lowveld, one that should be visited. So close to nature, and yet with all the comfort.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emmie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

Summerfield advertises with 5 star luxury and retreat. And indeed the tents and location are beautiful. However, the client service is horrific. It was too much asked for to book an evening safari, there was no WIFI anywhere in the park, we were woken up at 7:00 AM by loud building construction sounds and on top we had a 2 day alarm that went off 24 hours a day in the dining area. Doesn't sound luxury to me. The worst was that nobody reacted in a customer friendly way to above topics. No reaction at all actually. Maybe in S.A this is 5 star. In Europe with this level of customer service it would be a 1 star venue. Do not book here.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank brianvanwachem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews