We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is where I want to be!”
Review of Skukuza Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skukuza Rest Camp
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is where I want to be!”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This was my home away from home! Skukuza is a great rest camp in The Kruger Park. The accommodation here is simple and has a great african theme. There are places to sit and watch over the rivers, seeing all types of animals. Sit around a camp fire listening to the roar of Lions. There is no place I would rather be!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    466
    294
    54
    25
See reviews for
257
461
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We have just spent two nights at Waterkant 1 Guest House in Skukuza. 4 bedrooms all ensuite and great kitchen/lounge area onto a huge lawn and entertainment area overloking the Sabie river. As you face the river, it is the second last cottage to your right; a wonderful quiet loction.
The experience from beginning to end was fantastic. The efficiency of the SanParks website when doing the booking, showing availability/pricing etc. The entrance and great service at the gates; the cleanliness of the park, the excellent service at picnic spots and availability to hire scottles, get boiling water etc.
Waterkant 1 was clean and very well equiped; the housekeeping service was excellent too. Comfortable beds with nice bed linen and towels, nicely tiled bathrooms with bath and shower. Well equipped tidy kitchen and a very nice braai/entertainment area outside. We braaied each night under the stars to the sounds of hippo grunting a few meters away!
Wonderful game viewing including the big 5 and fabulous birding.
The museum in Skukuza was interesting. We ate all our meals at the house so didn't try the restaurant.
Great value for money; wonderful facitities.
Well done SanParks

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I was not impressed by Skukuza this is the main camp in the park and should be its flagship. It is visited by many tourists from around the world and really gives a bad impression of our people. The service was curt, rude and unhelpful not only at the reception but also the shop and museum. The air conditioner in the unit was ancient and noisy and despite the draps and bedding being modernised the shower was appalling. This camp is big and busy and I would advise anyone to stop for a look at the river , grab a drink at the shop and move on to one of the smaller camps. You will not see me back at Skukuza in a hurry but this said I will be back in the park again in June. This rating should not be seen as a reflection on the whole park as the service at Pafuri gate, Nkulu rest stop and Lower Sabie were all excellent. The park roads are well maintained and has excellent facilities at most interest points.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was the first camp that we stayed in on our recent half term trip to the Kruger. Although we have been to South Africa several times, and know what to expect service wise, this was our first trip to the park. Camp was easy to find from main gate , however service at the reception was normal South African .Staff chatting to each other rather than customers and you got the impression that everything was too much effort! Asked about the Wild Card which gives you discounted conservation fees for the whole trip, only to be told that it was not available to International visitors( not true and probably cost us an extra £200 for the trip) Camp is very large ( one of biggest on Kruger) and very busy, but accomodation was easy to find. We stayed in one of the rondables , and it was clean and had a good range of equipment. Towels had seen better days ( however not unexpected by how many people pass through camp everyday) but were clean and plenty of them. Remember you are staying in public rest camps, not 5 star lodges, hence the price difference!The chalets are a little close together, our children said it reminded them of an African Centre Parcs, so maybe not the place to go for authentic Africa. Had a meal in restaurant which was good basic fare, not much choice if you are a veggie tends to be meat , meat and more meat. Service was pretty bad , with a slow and sullen waiter. Also they have a tendency to just take your payment for a meal and not bring back change, they just assume that extra is a tip! We asked if we could have a little milk for a morning coffee which he begrudingly got and then said it would be 20 rhand , we suggested he took it out of his tip he had helped himself to! There is a choice of a cafe and restaurant , and a shop selling some food items and gifts. We did not see a single monkey on the camp and we were wandering around a lot at night , but our highlight was having a close encounter with some beautiful bush babies on way to restaurant using the lamps to catch the insects and bugs. Think some people need to realise this is Africa and you are there living there with wildlife, its not a safari park. There is a swimming pool there but we did not use so can't comment on that.The only downside to it was the number of people there, not only overnight guests but a lot of day trippers . When we went for breakfast it seemed like every safari bus in the Kruger had also stopped!
Wildlife around area was very good, we did most of our safari on the tarmac roads due to recent flood damage but saw a wide range of animals and birds. Recommend stopping off at the Lake Panic hide, wonderful bird and mammal life. One tip we learnt is when on safari don't drive through elephant dung as they eat the camel thorns and they can punture your tyres

Room Tip: Ask for accomodation by the perimetre fence & book a Wild Card at your first camp, this will giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TraceyS1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Kruger national park is in dire straights of some serious help and a lot of training! Our drains were blocked on arrival and the toilet handle had to be pushed back up after flushing. The entire airconditioner cover fell onto my toiletries bag and made a huger mess. The vents have not been cleaned ever and the general dirt is pretty disgusting! Considering one pays almost R800 per rondawel per night and a conservation levy, this place is about to hit rock bottom! The new gitzy gold fabric covers that are on the bed are toitally out of place as are the shiny curtains. They are all stained and shabby after around 1 years use.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safarigirlsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
122.6 km away
Letaba Rest Camp
Letaba Rest Camp
#10 of 13 in Kruger National Park
382 reviews
11.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
2.5 km away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.4 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 171 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
0.0 km away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#105 of 171 in Kruger National Park
433 reviews
288.8 km away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#56 of 171 in Kruger National Park
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skukuza Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skukuza Rest Camp

Property: Skukuza Rest Camp
Address: 12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Skukuza Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skukuza is the Kruger National Park's largest rest camp and administrative headquarters. It is situated on the southern banks of the Sabie River. The camp is well foliaged and there are some lofty trees along the river's edge. Activities and facilities are diverse, as are the animals and plants found both within the camp and in the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skukuza Restcamp - Kruger National Park Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing