We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Belgium Inn(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Baobab Bush Lodge(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
African Rock Lodge(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$248
US$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
US$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$30
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AM Lodge(Hoedspruit)
US$769
US$652
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Becks Safari Lodge(Hoedspruit)
US$1,053
US$993
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
140
93
31
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
93
31
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshillside houseblyde river canyonone nightloft roomcourse set menuluxury cottageviews of the mountainsshower headbeautiful treesboat triplovely roombreakfast was includedpanorama routebaby zebrasecond bedroomhot breakfastsecurity gate
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We spent 3 nights at Blyde River Canyon Lodge in May. Rooms are comfortable but a little dated in places. The lodge has a very attractive setting. Breakfasts were excellent with a great selection of fruit, cereals, bakery items, cold cuts, etc. as well as fresh cooked egg dishes. The dinners were generally very good as well although our last dinner wasn’t up to the standard of the first two. The lodge is quite small and we were the only guests for the first two nights of our stay. We enjoyed sitting by the pool and enjoying a glass of wine before dinner. We used the lodge as a base for viewing the Panorama Route and the scenic attractions of Blyde River Canyon and it worked fairly well for that purpose although it might be a little far away. Allow 3 to 4 hours driving time round trip plus time to stop at the view points along the way.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whistler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Met with lovely cold drink on arrival. Upgraded to "honeymoon" room which overlooked the garden. Had the set meal on the verandah in the evening which was exceptional value for money and delicious too! Looked out over zebras and impalas grazing on the lawn! Pool was small but great for a dip. Drove to the dam and the lake - well worth seeing. Only fault I can think of is the concertina door to the bathroom seemed to cheapen the room - otherwise good.

Highly recommend for a quite retreat or stop near Kruger.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytime19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

During a recent visit to the Kruger National we stayed at this lodge for one night. The lodge is situated in a botanical reserve within the canyon and the setting is absolutely stunning. The Lodge is a beautiful thatched building.

We upgraded to the honeymoon suite because the room was offered and was apparently bigger than the standard rooms. The room was very spacious with a four poster bed. The bed linen was reasonable but the towels needed replacing. The air con worked well. I discovered the hair drier in the wardrobe after fishing my own out of a suitcase I did not mean to unpack. The bath room was very old and could do with updating. There was no fridge in the room. The Wi-Fi was free but did not actually work due to some problem with the router, which the manageress insisted on calling the writer!

We were asked whether we had any allergies or dislikes as far as food went. There is a set menu with no choices which might bother some people. The starter was an odd mushroom dish with grated cheese on top. The main course was a pork chop and was quite tasty. An apple tart with ice cream was served for pudding. All OK but nothing to write home about.
There was a breakfast buffet with the usual bits and it was OK. This was followed by a cooked breakfast of your choice. It was not immediately clear that a cooked breakfast was available.
The staff were friendly.

This place could be fantastic with a few tweaks.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RBCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Beautiful surroundings and a great base for going into Kruger. Zebras, wildebeest and monkeys roam around and the reception and deck areas are well presented. Rooms are a little lacklustre and bathrooms quite dated but was comfy and quiet. Dinner was good (if served a little speedily at 7pm!) and breakfast was very generous. Only complaint was that the staff were inhospitable if we asked for anything that took them out of their routine! Lights were turned off and doors locked when we were still sitting in the lodge after dinner at about 8.30pm and when we asked for a coffee on the deck the next morning we were made to feel that we'd really inconvenienced them. They were very pushy when asking for tips which left us with a poor impression of a potentially brilliant lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The Lodge is within easy reach of Hoedspruit Airport and a very good place to relax and recover from your journey. If you do not wish to venture out in the evening we found the meals excellent. There are a variety of animals to be seen in the garden and a lovely pool. Viki and her staff make you very welcome.The rooms are comfortable and clean. There is spectacular scenery in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews