We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to the Garden Route”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa
Ranked #22 of 62 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Such a nice place to stay. The rooms are beautiful. The views they have is amazing. We had the spa treatments as well, very relaxing. Breakfast is great, try the French toast. The staff and the owners are very helpful and friendly. Thank you we had a great time.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Werner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Werner S.,
thank you so much for your time writing this wonderful review and for your great rating.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure for all of us hosting you and we see forward to welcome you again soon.
All the best until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Amazing, fabulous, beautiful, magnificent, romantic.The view is to die for, from the moment you enter this establishment, till you enter your room with balcony looking over the lake. Martina and Klaus thank you for your warm hearts to make these few days feeling like we are on an island. Breakfasts was so intimate for me and my husband. We hope that the Lodge will go from strength to strength. You have the personalities to let people feel welcome and homely. Will definitely return and recommend to everyone!!! A vacation that we will not forget. Mishqoa and Faezal

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mishqoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Mishqoa,
dear Faezal,

thank you so much for this wonderful review and rating.

Klaus and me have enjoyed hosting you - you have been such wonderful guests and it was a pleasure for us to make your stay here at the Lodge a memorable one.

We see forward to welcome you again soon, all the best until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Nothing could have prepared us for this magnificent place! Our hosts, Martina and Klaus could not have been more welcoming and helpful and went out of their way to add to the most enjoyable stay in this tranquil and scenic lodge as well as serving a lovely breakfast. As for the room with a view...absolutely breathtaking! The infinity pool overlooking the lake with mountains in the background make this position the go to place if you need food for your soul! Will definitely be back. Thank you again, Martina and Klaus!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malaningrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_atthelodge, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Guests,
thank you for taking your time writing this wonderful review - and for your excellent rating.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge and that we could make it a memorable one.

We hope to so you again soon !!

We wish you all the best until then - stay well......


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

We arrived and were greeted by Martina and Klaus! Everything was absolutely perfect! We were lucky enough to experience the tranquil honeymoon suite which catered to all our needs! The views looked like a scene from a movie! Every morning we were served the most delicious breakfast and always served with a smile! We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay and cannot wait to return and enjoy some together there again! Well done on having such a beautiful lodge and making us feel right at home!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cherisse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_atthelodge, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Cherisse M,
thank you so much for taking your time to write this wonderful review and for giving us this top rating.
We enjoyed so much hosting you at the Lodge and we are very happy that we could make your stay a memorable one.

We see forward to welcome you again soon here in Wilderness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Where do I start with this amazing place..
First of all check in was quick and efficient and then to step into our room and see that incredible view. No money in the world can buy what that do to your soul. The stillness of the surroundings and then the only interruption is the sound of a fish eagle hovering over the lake!

Breakfast was beautifully done with the utmost care for food while looking over the lake and watching the birds. I even saw the elusive Knysna Loerie.

Last but not least ... Klaus and Martina!!
They shared stories with us from their past experiences and made us feel like friends in their home. They are what make this place a home and not just a guesthouse. I know it's a cliché but you meet them as strangers but leave as family. They are really awesome people and a true asset to this establishment. Hope to see them again

Stayed: June 2017
Thank MaritzaWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_atthelodge, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear Maritza,
thank you so much for your time to write this wonderful review and thank you for your perfect rating.

We are so happy to hear, that you enjoyed your short holiday with us and that we could make your stay a memorable one.

We all hope to welcome you again soon and all the best until then.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
5.8 km away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
5.5 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
774 reviews
2 km away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Wilderness on Sea B&B
Wilderness on Sea B&B
#17 of 62 in Wilderness
150 reviews
4.5 km away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 62 in Wilderness
468 reviews
4.1 km away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#10 of 62 in Wilderness
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa

Address: 746 North Street, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: €97 - €158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Lake is built on the outskirts of Wilderness. The Lodge is an exclusive guesthouse nestled on the hillside overlooking the spectacular Island Lake and the mountains beyond. Nature and architecture blend seamlessly into a setting that surely must be among the most beautiful in the world. Relax in the lounge area and gaze out onto the rimflow pool and the expanse of lake beyond. The Lodge rooms, each with full en-suite bathroom, balcony and unsurpassed views over the lake below and the surrounding mountains. Leave your stress at the front door and allow yourself to sink into a truly sumptuous and restorative experience at "Mandara" Wellness & Spa. Enjoy a delicious breakfast before exploring the area around Wilderness. We organize individual day tours, got lots of information about our surroundings and love to assist you for restaurant recommendations and reservations. See you soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Lodge On The Lake Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing