We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
127
33
9
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
33
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeymoon suite garden route magnificent place an awesome experience no hot water rooms are beautiful delicious breakfast enjoyable stay martina views hosts tranquil oudtshoorn soul serenity sedgefield establishment
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Amazing, fabulous, beautiful, magnificent, romantic.The view is to die for, from the moment you enter this establishment, till you enter your room with balcony looking over the lake. Martina and Klaus thank you for your warm hearts to make these few days feeling like we are on an island. Breakfasts was so intimate for me and my husband. We hope that the Lodge will go from strength to strength. You have the personalities to let people feel welcome and homely. Will definitely return and recommend to everyone!!! A vacation that we will not forget. Mishqoa and Faezal

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mishqoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Mishqoa,
dear Faezal,

thank you so much for this wonderful review and rating.

Klaus and me have enjoyed hosting you - you have been such wonderful guests and it was a pleasure for us to make your stay here at the Lodge a memorable one.

We see forward to welcome you again soon, all the best until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Nothing could have prepared us for this magnificent place! Our hosts, Martina and Klaus could not have been more welcoming and helpful and went out of their way to add to the most enjoyable stay in this tranquil and scenic lodge as well as serving a lovely breakfast. As for the room with a view...absolutely breathtaking! The infinity pool overlooking the lake with mountains in the background make this position the go to place if you need food for your soul! Will definitely be back. Thank you again, Martina and Klaus!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malaningrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_atthelodge, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Guests,
thank you for taking your time writing this wonderful review - and for your excellent rating.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge and that we could make it a memorable one.

We hope to so you again soon !!

We wish you all the best until then - stay well......


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

We arrived and were greeted by Martina and Klaus! Everything was absolutely perfect! We were lucky enough to experience the tranquil honeymoon suite which catered to all our needs! The views looked like a scene from a movie! Every morning we were served the most delicious breakfast and always served with a smile! We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay and cannot wait to return and enjoy some together there again! Well done on having such a beautiful lodge and making us feel right at home!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cherisse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_atthelodge, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Cherisse M,
thank you so much for taking your time to write this wonderful review and for giving us this top rating.
We enjoyed so much hosting you at the Lodge and we are very happy that we could make your stay a memorable one.

We see forward to welcome you again soon here in Wilderness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Where do I start with this amazing place..
First of all check in was quick and efficient and then to step into our room and see that incredible view. No money in the world can buy what that do to your soul. The stillness of the surroundings and then the only interruption is the sound of a fish eagle hovering over the lake!

Breakfast was beautifully done with the utmost care for food while looking over the lake and watching the birds. I even saw the elusive Knysna Loerie.

Last but not least ... Klaus and Martina!!
They shared stories with us from their past experiences and made us feel like friends in their home. They are what make this place a home and not just a guesthouse. I know it's a cliché but you meet them as strangers but leave as family. They are really awesome people and a true asset to this establishment. Hope to see them again

Stayed: June 2017
Thank MaritzaWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_atthelodge, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear Maritza,
thank you so much for your time to write this wonderful review and thank you for your perfect rating.

We are so happy to hear, that you enjoyed your short holiday with us and that we could make your stay a memorable one.

We all hope to welcome you again soon and all the best until then.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Martina and Klaus are incredible hosts at this charming little place on the lake. The rooms are great (true to what you see on booking.com), views over the lake fantastic, and they are great at providing recommendations for local restaurants and activities. They were also kind enough to arrange a drive in to town for dinner for us the night we arrived. There is also a lovely infinity pool and spa that we did not get the chance to use this time. I had a bit of an issue one day with the towels not looking clean, but honestly the hosts are so nice that it is hard to find many faults. Our friends who were on their honeymoon were also left a nice bottle to celebrate. This is a great choice to stay in Wilderness!

Room Tip: I think they all have equally lovely lake views
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nair-Nagdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_atthelodge, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Nair-Nagdev,
please apologise for the late response but through some technical errors, I could not respond within the usual time window of 1-2 hours.

Thank you very much for your time writing this lovely review and your positive rating.
We are very glad, that you and your friends enjoyed staying at the Lodge and recommending us to other Tripadvisor readers.
Sadly that we did not get to know anything about the issue with the towels during your stay as this would have been a very important information - especially for our new staff members.......

We are looking forward welcoming you again at the Lodge - all the best until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews