We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
127
33
9
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
33
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeymoon suite garden route magnificent place an awesome experience no hot water rooms are beautiful delicious breakfast enjoyable stay martina views hosts tranquil oudtshoorn soul serenity sedgefield establishment
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I gladly recommend this lodge to anyone. Klaus and martina are superb managers they made us all feel at home and we left feeling more like friends than Guests. Even though it isnt a child friendly hotel they went out of their way to make our daughter feel special... even put a smiley face on her porridge. The views are breathtaking, rooms are stunning and of a extremely high standard. And the breakfasts are amazing. I would give this lodge all stars possible... they deserve 5 stars and more. Thank you so much for everything... we will definitely be back and for much longer next time

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank DavidR14371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_atthelodge, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Dear David and family,

thank you so much for your wonderful review, the fantastic ranking and recommending the Lodge to other travellers.
We are so glad to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us!
It was a pleasure for us hosting you.
Big hug to the little girl and her new friend Billi ;-)

We hope to see you again soon. All the best to all of you until then.

Martina and Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

If you are looking to escape the city buzz this establishment is definitely the place for you. My husband and I visited the place on the weekend of the 23rd-25 Sept 2016 The view of the lake is breath-taking and the place is peaceful with only the nice sound of birds that your hear on the background.From our arrival until departure the hospitality of the staff and the owners(Martina & her husband) was nothing but exceptional.Our room was always kept neat and tidy.Owners, with their hands on involvement go all out to make sure you have a pleasant stay.

We had a wonderful experience here and we would definitely come back.
Thank you Martina & your team, keep up the great work that you are doing.

Nondumiso & Khanya Mahlathi
South Africa

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miznkontsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_atthelodge, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Dear Nondumiso,
dear Khanya,

thank you so much for this wonderful review and the great rating.

We are so glad to hear, that you and your husband spend such a memorable time staying here at the Lodge. That you enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the environment and of course - the stunning view over the lake.

It was a pleasure hosting you - for Klaus, for me and for the team.

We hope to see you again soon, stay well until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Awesome owners and managers. The place is very peaceful, not to mention the amazing continuous view of the well thought landscaping from the pool to the lake. Martina and her husband always make a point to direct you to awesome places to visit. The room was very clean at all times. The only downfall is the available TV channels and the type of TV in the rooms. Could do better.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tumisang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_atthelodge, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Tumisang L,

thank you very much for taking your time writing your lovely review.

It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed staying at the Lodge with it's unique environment as we enjoyed hosting you.

Yes, you are right Tumisang - except the TV in the Honeymoon Suite - we need to replace the old TV's. We just replaced a faulty decoder and get Multichoice to re-arrange the channels.
We are busy to give the Lodge a new paint on the outside at the moment, but definetly the TV's are on our list.

We hope to welcome you again soon at the Lodge. All the best until then.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

What an amazing start to our honeymoon. The room was amazing and well kept, staff always friendly and the caretakers went out of their way to help arrange activities for us around the area and breakfasts were divine. We also attended the spa here - one of the best we have been to. I would highly recommend to all couples looking for a romantic getaway with an amazing view of the lake.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MarkL6715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Dear Mark L.,

thank you so much for your time writing this wonderful review and for your excellent rating.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your Honeymoon staying at the Lodge. Thank you for recommending our Guesthouse especially to future Honeymooners.

It was a pleasure for all of us hosting you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted by two lovely Hosts, the managers of the lodge on the lake, they have been nothing but friendly and very helpful. As we walked through the front door the sight of the lake was breathtaking and very relaxing, the manner in which we were treated was honestly a breath of fresh air, as the managers engaged in a conversation with us getting to know us as more than just a guest. We stayed in the honeymoon suite and let me tell you the pictures doesn't do the place justice it is beyond beautiful, neat and tidy , smells amazing , the staff is wonderful, we will definitely be coming back soon. The breakfast was delightful, your religion is taken into consideration as we are strictly halaal and our needs were catered for, we definitely rate the service and the lodge with gold stars. An amazing experience indeed! Thank you Mr and Mrs Stoecker lodge on the lake

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank HadinA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Dear Hadin,

thank you so much for taking your time and writing this wonderful review and for the great rating.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that it was a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Martina and Klaus
and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews