We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most excellent accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa
Ranked #22 of 62 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2016

A wonderful gem run by a great couple situated in the most beautiful part of South Africa. The rooms a beautifully decorated in ultra modern style, with excellent views. If you are on honeymoon request the honeymoon suite.

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VGV001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_atthelodge, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your wonderful review and rating.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You have been such pleasent guests and we see forward to welcome you again soon!

Yes, the Honeymoon Suite is indeed THE room to book for Honeymooners, it has such a nice atmosphere.

We certainly are very proud to have the ability to live in this stunning surrounding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I gladly recommend this lodge to anyone. Klaus and martina are superb managers they made us all feel at home and we left feeling more like friends than Guests. Even though it isnt a child friendly hotel they went out of their way to make our daughter feel special... even put a smiley face on her porridge. The views are breathtaking, rooms are stunning and of a extremely high standard. And the breakfasts are amazing. I would give this lodge all stars possible... they deserve 5 stars and more. Thank you so much for everything... we will definitely be back and for much longer next time

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_atthelodge, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Dear David and family,

thank you so much for your wonderful review, the fantastic ranking and recommending the Lodge to other travellers.
We are so glad to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us!
It was a pleasure for us hosting you.
Big hug to the little girl and her new friend Billi ;-)

We hope to see you again soon. All the best to all of you until then.

Martina and Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

If you are looking to escape the city buzz this establishment is definitely the place for you. My husband and I visited the place on the weekend of the 23rd-25 Sept 2016 The view of the lake is breath-taking and the place is peaceful with only the nice sound of birds that your hear on the background.From our arrival until departure the hospitality of the staff and the owners(Martina & her husband) was nothing but exceptional.Our room was always kept neat and tidy.Owners, with their hands on involvement go all out to make sure you have a pleasant stay.

We had a wonderful experience here and we would definitely come back.
Thank you Martina & your team, keep up the great work that you are doing.

Nondumiso & Khanya Mahlathi
South Africa

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miznkontsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_atthelodge, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Dear Nondumiso,
dear Khanya,

thank you so much for this wonderful review and the great rating.

We are so glad to hear, that you and your husband spend such a memorable time staying here at the Lodge. That you enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the environment and of course - the stunning view over the lake.

It was a pleasure hosting you - for Klaus, for me and for the team.

We hope to see you again soon, stay well until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Awesome owners and managers. The place is very peaceful, not to mention the amazing continuous view of the well thought landscaping from the pool to the lake. Martina and her husband always make a point to direct you to awesome places to visit. The room was very clean at all times. The only downfall is the available TV channels and the type of TV in the rooms. Could do better.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tumisang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina_atthelodge, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Tumisang L,

thank you very much for taking your time writing your lovely review.

It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed staying at the Lodge with it's unique environment as we enjoyed hosting you.

Yes, you are right Tumisang - except the TV in the Honeymoon Suite - we need to replace the old TV's. We just replaced a faulty decoder and get Multichoice to re-arrange the channels.
We are busy to give the Lodge a new paint on the outside at the moment, but definetly the TV's are on our list.

We hope to welcome you again soon at the Lodge. All the best until then.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

What an amazing start to our honeymoon. The room was amazing and well kept, staff always friendly and the caretakers went out of their way to help arrange activities for us around the area and breakfasts were divine. We also attended the spa here - one of the best we have been to. I would highly recommend to all couples looking for a romantic getaway with an amazing view of the lake.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Dear Mark L.,

thank you so much for your time writing this wonderful review and for your excellent rating.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your Honeymoon staying at the Lodge. Thank you for recommending our Guesthouse especially to future Honeymooners.

It was a pleasure for all of us hosting you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
5.8 km away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
5.5 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
774 reviews
2 km away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Wilderness on Sea B&B
Wilderness on Sea B&B
#17 of 62 in Wilderness
150 reviews
4.5 km away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 62 in Wilderness
468 reviews
4.1 km away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#10 of 62 in Wilderness
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa

Address: 746 North Street, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: €97 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Lake is built on the outskirts of Wilderness. The Lodge is an exclusive guesthouse nestled on the hillside overlooking the spectacular Island Lake and the mountains beyond. Nature and architecture blend seamlessly into a setting that surely must be among the most beautiful in the world. Relax in the lounge area and gaze out onto the rimflow pool and the expanse of lake beyond. The Lodge rooms, each with full en-suite bathroom, balcony and unsurpassed views over the lake below and the surrounding mountains. Leave your stress at the front door and allow yourself to sink into a truly sumptuous and restorative experience at "Mandara" Wellness & Spa. Enjoy a delicious breakfast before exploring the area around Wilderness. We organize individual day tours, got lots of information about our surroundings and love to assist you for restaurant recommendations and reservations. See you soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Lodge On The Lake Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing