We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (574)
Filter reviews
574 results
Traveller rating
556
16
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
16
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail bircher muesli guest house overlooking the lagoon garden route perfect hosts places to visit local knowledge bedroom and bathroom south africa every evening welcome drink thought of everything helpful hosts b bs hot breakfast breakfasts were excellent
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 574 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We stayed at Wilderness Manor for two nights in January and we wish it had been longer. JD and Gerald made us feel so welcome and gave us so much of their time telling us about places to visit in the area. Although we had been to Wilderness before, we didn't know about the 'Map of Africa', which was an amazing discovery. They recommended restaurants and made reservations for us and couldn't have been kinder. By the time we left it felt as though we were saying goodbye to old friends. Their house is lovely, with a beautiful view over the lagoon and the breakfasts were so delicious. I loved JD's Bircher Muesli. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JANICE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

We have just had a second enjoyable stay at Wilderness Manor where the hosts continue to maintain a high standard of hospitality and comfort. We intend to return next year and have no hesitation of recommending Wilderness Manor as a guest house of distinction.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 976ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

We stayed 2 nights in February and I would recommend it to anyone, Lovely rooms and house, excellent breakfast, good location and very welcoming and helpful hosts who gave us lots of useful information about the area. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

Myself and my wife (on our honeymoon) don't have many regrets about our holiday in South Africa but I think not having another night or two in Wilderness would be top of the list. The town has a lot to offer and staying in Wilderness Manor was a real treat.

JD and Gerald are among the best hosts we've had. Lovely attention to detail in everything they do. The room was superb, very comfortable with a great view. The bathroom was huge and had everything you'd want. The whole place is styled beautifully, including the breakfast and living room areas.

I loved hanging around the living room, it's not something I usually have time for when travelling and trying to be out and about as much as possible. We played chess on one of the ornate sets there and had some port when we came back from dinner at The Girls (also very highly recommended).

Gerald and JD were very welcoming, especially to us newlyweds, booked our dinner at The Girls for us and full of advice about our stay and the area (thanks JD) and our trip, which paid off when we continued our journey along the Garden Route (thanks to Gerald for going over the map with us).

We couldn't recommend it highly enough!

John + Claire

Room Tip: The front-facing room upstairs was perfect for us, lovely view with privacy to the back.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

Delightful situation overlooking the river which is particularly beautiful in the early morning or just as the sun sets. Several good restaurants 1 kilometre away which can be safely walked along the boardwalk by the river.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews