We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but inferior service”

Pine Ridge Spur Steak Ranch
Price range: US$4 - US$11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery
Description: Pine Ridge Spur at Cascades Shopping Centre in Pietermaritzburg is a family-friendly restaurant that serves the best ribs, burgers & steaks. Bring along your kids for some great tasting food & dessert from our famous Spur menu!
Reviewed 10 May 2017

This venue is very popular for kiddies birthday parties due to its great playground facilities. We were 6 adults and we got served 2 by 2. The last 2 only received their food after the first 2 had finished theirs!!!!

The food was good - no complaints.

The singing and dancing was good and created a vibe but more time needs to be given to training staff how to serve customers more efficiently.

Paying the bill was a nightmare and took forever for the cashier to work out who was paying what.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Warwick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Ridge Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Warwick W,

Thank you for taking the time to review Pine Ridge Spur Restaurant. We are sorry to hear that this was your experience. We'll certainly inform management to ensure that any necessary changes are made.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We had an incident at another Spur where there was metal in a hamburger.

So we decided to go to Pine Ridge Spur to give Spur a second go. Well that didn't work!

Firstly, we waited 11 minutes to be served after being seated. Then over 30 minutes for the sub standard food to arrive.

I spoke to the manager who said he would see what is taking place. He then returned and the food was on its way. I said that we would rather leave but he said give them another 5 minutes. When the food eventually arrived he said there was a issue in the kitchen and apologised. That's the last we saw of him.

As I said the food was sub standard. Soggy rolls, cold and under cooked. We left with my wife saying that she is never going to Spur again!

Thank NJC112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Ridge Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear njc112,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of service & food quality we pride ourselves on.

We would appreciate the opportunity to get in touch with both you and the store's management team. Please email us your contact details along with a copy of this review to customer-care@spur.co.za.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

This Spur has friendly staff and often quick service as it is not very busy most of the time. Steak with a sauce is very nice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mattinahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Ridge Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Mattinahat,

Thank you for your review of our Pine Ridge Spur Family Restaurant. We are delighted that the food and service was a hit! We look forward to having you back again, soon.

Kind regards,
Spur Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Previously horrendous experience was made better by an excellent follow up the following month. Service was much better despite being quite busy.Food was excellent.

Thank Mr Kavith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

a normal chain restaurant which is set apart by the quality of the service. Bongi is an asset as she gives service second to none. John in his management role is an example to others and leads the team well.

1  Thank steveyb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Ridge Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2016

Dear steveyb37,

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your feedback. So happy to hear that Bongi provided you with such excellent service! We look forward to providing you with more great service in the future. :)

Kind Regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pine Ridge Spur Steak Ranch also viewed

Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Pine Ridge Spur Steak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing