We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the South Coast”
Review of The Packshed

The Packshed
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Margate
Description: The Packshed is a unique à la carte restaurant, which is situated within the 120ha Sweetdale Estate in Margate. It offers a special dining experience in a rustic and romantic atmosphere. The menu is based on different cooking styles, using earthly techniques like wood grilling, hot or cold smoking, and when it feels right, offering fusion styled dishes from all over the world. The Packshed is not just a unique restaurant. They are a team which follows a common passion in life. It’s the passion about food and it’s the dream to do whatever they can to give young, underprivileged people a chance for a better future. That’s why they run the Packshed together with students from the Sweetdale Skillscenter. The Packshed is also a perfect venue for weddings, functions, team-building and celebrations up to 300 people.
Restaurant details
Description: The Packshed is a unique à la carte restaurant, which is situated within the 120ha Sweetdale Estate in Margate. It offers a special dining experience in a rustic and romantic atmosphere. The menu is based on different cooking styles, using earthly techniques like wood grilling, hot or cold smoking, and when it feels right, offering fusion styled dishes from all over the world. The Packshed is not just a unique restaurant. They are a team which follows a common passion in life. It’s the passion about food and it’s the dream to do whatever they can to give young, underprivileged people a chance for a better future. That’s why they run the Packshed together with students from the Sweetdale Skillscenter. The Packshed is also a perfect venue for weddings, functions, team-building and celebrations up to 300 people.
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Great atmosphere and even better Food.
Bonfire creating relaxed occasion and staff extremely friendly with great service.

Thank Louis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePackshed, Owner at The Packshed, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear Louis V

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the relaxed bonfire atmosphere pared with our delicious food. I will definitely forward your feedback to our Team! Hope to have you back soon.

Best regards
The Packshed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2018

We visited this restaurant whilst on holiday from the UK. It was highly recommended by a friend of ours who lives locally. I had the Salmon which was absolutely delicious. The restaurant itself feels welcoming despite being quite a large room and the tables are nicely spaced apart. Excellent food & great service. Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nina943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePackshed, Owner at The Packshed, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Dear Nina943

Thank you so much for your absolutely great feedback. We are so happy to read that you have enjoyed the atmosphere, the food and the service. Your words mean a lot to us and it is always a great motivation for the whole Team. It would be so nice to have you back at The Packshed again when you visiting the coast. Have a lovely day. Warm regards from the whole The Packshed Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent food beautifully presented, friendly service and attention to detail. Tucked away, but worth the visit.

Thank JoleenMatthee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePackshed, Owner at The Packshed, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dearest JoleenMatthee

Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your visit at The Packshed. Hopefully we will have you back very soon again.

Have a lovely day

Best regards,
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We used TripAdvisor to search for somewhere new to explore near to our home in Southbroom. The Packshed came up as recommended and we headed off past the Margate airport to the out-of-the-way restaurant - not knowing what to expect. It is only open from 3pm, which made me wonder why?
The restaurant is situated on a youth training facility. We were met by a very friendly Daniel - a young man of German origin - I used some of my very basic German in greeting, but quickly reverted to English.
Daniel explained that the farm has vegetable and spice growing for the restaurant, they have just started rearing goats - which will add to the sources of ingredients for their meals and a wedding venue is being built just outside the restaurant.
What pleases me most is that there is a youth training centre for disadvantaged young people on the premises which teaches plumbing, woodworking, electrician as well as cooking skills. The trainees are to be seem working away in the kitchen and serving as waiters. We were so pleased to learn about this and will support the restaurant even more as a result.
The service was excellent - Daniel seems to be everywhere at once. The food was interesting - some excellent, some mediocre. The complimentary starters were very tasty (potato balls packed with delicious salmon etc.) but were slightly cold right in the centre. The head chef was at our table in a flash to apologize and explain that he had cooled them a little too much to keep them together.
We would have liked to select from the "Harvest Menu", but you have to choose 2 of the 3 options and we only liked the look of one.
My wife had the "Beef Duo" which was beef fillet topped with deboned oxtail which she said was excellent. I chose the "Pulled Lamb Shepherds Pie" - if you want a LOT of food, then this is the meal for you. Very tasty, but disappointing presentation - the vegetables seemed to have been pureed into the meat and looked like baby food - but good tasting baby food.
The Lindt Chocolate Fondant was fantastic. I will go back just for this dessert.
Well done to Daniel and his inspirational team. You make my heart sing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PaulDJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePackshed, Owner at The Packshed, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear PaulDJohannesburg

First of all we would like to thank you, that you took your time for a detailed review about your visit at The Packshed restaurant. It was a great pleasure having you.
You are right that the restaurant only opens up from 3pm. As you have written above, we are an "out-of-the-way" restaurant, which means that lunches are not to busy. In fact we had open for lunch in the last year but we - the owners - had decided to focus on the evenings as the lunches are just not to profitable. All our dishes are produced daily and freshly (with some ingredients of our own farm), which brings a lot of effort for the kitchen team and a lot of preparation time with it.
We are so thankful that you took note of our project with the disadvantaged youth and that you have enjoyed our excellent service.
The "harvest menu" is a daily changing menu. It is an attractive alternative to our à la carte selection. If you are interested in only one of the courses you are always welcome to ask. Most of the times (depending on the bookings) we are happy to just offer you a single course from the harvest menu.
Thank you for the compliment of the food. I am sorry to here that you have not enjoyed the Shepard's Pie throughout and that you had a feeling of eating baby food. That is definitely not the intention of this dish. The "normal" Shepard's Pie is topped with mash, where we add butternut to it and mash it together with the potatoes.
We are grateful to hear that you will keep supporting us and hope to have you back very soon again. Warm regards from the whole The Packshed team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

A very good place to go for dinner. Friendly staff and good food. The cook even prepared a vegetarian meal
We liked it so much that we came back the following evening.
Thank you to Sam and his team !

Thank Vince597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePackshed, Inhaber at The Packshed, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Vince597

Thank you so much for your feedback and your kind words about out staff and food. We are happy that we could cater according your wishes. It is important for us to go the extra mile for our guests. Thank you for visiting us twi times in a row. Safe travels and hopefully we see you at The Packshed again. Warm regards from the whole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Packshed also viewed

Ramsgate, KwaZulu-Natal
Margate, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Shelly Beach, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Margate, KwaZulu-Natal
Ramsgate, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Packshed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing