We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
136
105
20
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
105
20
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game park tented accommodation outdoor bathroom bull elephant electric fence tea coffee making facilities relaxing stay nice bathroom early morning drive reception staff excellent guide four star enjoyed our stay wonderful experience special experience false bay st lucia
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We had a wonderful 4-day stay at Falaza over New Year’s Eve 2011, but I do have few complaints;
1) The food was very basic and not what one expects from a lodge of Falaza’s standard. I also feel that the ala carte meals are a bit over priced for what one get.
2) When I made the bookings, I’ve been told that a party in the bush will be arranged for New Year ’s Eve, but it ended up with very boring snacks in the bar. I must admit that most of the other residents at the lodge most likely would not have attended a bush party.

On the positive side;
1) Service was excellent and one of the staff members (Sam) even got up early one morning to prepare snack packs and open the gate for us.
2) The tents are great and especially the 2 we had (no’s 8 and 10), that is right next to the fence of the game park.

Apart from the food, I can recommend Falaza, but think that with a little bit of effort they can improve their menu and quality of the food.

Room Tip: Number 8 and 10 is right next to the fence of the game park. One can view game from the veranda.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed 2 nights in a tent, although you would never have known as it had tiled floor and all mod cons including an outside bath and indoor and oudoor showers. The food was very good with an excellent choice. The accommodation is set right on the edge of the game park and the deer and resident white rhino come right up to the fence. We wnt on a river cruise at St Lucia where we saw hippo, crocodile and lots of bird life, we also went to Hluhluwe Imfoluzi game park where we were lucky enough to encounter a herd of at least 100 elephants including week old babies at one point we were surrounded which was an experience we will never forget.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev-Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We only stayed one night enroute from Ermelo to Ballito. We didn't need the game park experience, just good clean beds and a decent meal - strangely, despite there being very few tourists in the area, more appropriate accom (i.e. no game reserve) would only accept 2 night reservations ! Staff were pleasant, tent was very spacious,clean and comfortable and the Spa did a good massage. The food was acceptable, but as there were only 4 guests dining, very little atmosphere. The pool did look dirty/in need of work. Avoid the N2 like the plague - very extensive road works/heavy lorries that added 2 1/2 hours to a 3hr Garmin estimate from Ermelo to Falaza.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Absolutely loved the place. Staff was terrific, food was good, accomadation amazing

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitRaetsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Private and exclusive feel. Beautiful rooms and set in the actual reserve with animals wandering through. Bird life will wake you in the mornings it is so prolific. Good cuisine of a standard we expected. Very friendly staff, with good knowledge. Spa is recommended. Perfect for a few days away from the Rat Race! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveclaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews