We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
51
24
9
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
24
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree lodge weaver birds all mod cons jungle gym for the kids braai facilities game drives game reserve comfy bed door step excellent stay a nice place to stay stayed here for nights overnight stop on stilts guided walk memorial gate mosquito net
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The surroundings are pretty, we walked into the main building to see weaver birds building their nests, which hang upside down on the branches of trees, below them were Crocodiles in a man made large pool and enclosure. Our tree house was lovely with all mod cons, in and amongst the trees, where we watched monkeys playing in the branches, with Zebra and Impalas walking around below us. Fabulous

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

We did three game drives, early morning, mid pm and late pm. All fantastic. You really do see the "big five" and it's so great to be with Alan who was extremely knowledgeable and made sure he looked out for every wild animal so we saw everything promised. A truly great time was had by all on our jeep and we all felt very privileged indeed and humbled.
The accommodation was first class in the circular thatched roof rooms with 4 poster bed etc and all mod cons. Excellent food n drink served at breakfast and dinner !

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

I visited here unexpectedly and had a great time. We were welcomed with a refreshing drink whilst we checked in. The tree lodges were quite spacious and very authentic, they really put you in the mood for seeing some wildlife. This didn't take long as there were plenty of African Giant snails on the path to the lodge, amazing creatures!

The lodges themselves were slightly disappointing in that I had zero WiFi. I know that's absolutely not why you would go to a place like this but I didn't have a phone signal either, so was completely out of communication with home. Also the lodges themselves could do with a clean and a lick of paint. There were old dead insects on the floor and mixed in with the mosquito net, along with holes in the net. You could tell the insects were old and had been there some time.

The main reception area had a nice bar and a restaurant, the food was OK but I couldn't really say more than that, basic at best.

The next morning we went on the safari, it was a very cold morning at the end of November. We saw many Rhino, plenty of antelope, water buffalo, but no big cats or elephants, all in all a good morning.

However the highlight of the trip was the walking safari actually at the lodge. This was far superior in my opinion, we got nice and close to Wildebeest, Zebra and various antelope. All set against a beautiful sunset and only 3 people in our group. Our guide was very knowledgeable re the flora and fauna and made it a real personal experience. I'm sorry I didn't get his name but the trip is a must, totally unforgettable!

I nearly forgot the crocodile pool with the amazing weaver birds in the trees and the monkeys. Also the staff were very friendly,happy and helpful! :0)

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NightBreed01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Clean and comfortable rooms with all the necessary amenities to have a pleasant rest before or after a game drive at
Hluhluwe -Imfolozi Park, 30 minute drive from Memorial gate. The lodge can organize daily safari drives into the park in their own 4 x 4 vehicles. Make sure you are booked with Allan, one of the most knowledgeable safari guides you will ever encounter in this part of the world. Lovely elevated decks to enjoy the company of the Nyalas and the large colony of weavers. While afternoon tea is basic, nice and delicious meals are served for dinner. Service overall was slow and lacking enthusiasm and with a bit of training and focus in this area, this could be a really nice mid range property. This was a convenient place for an overnight stop between Joburg and Kosi Bay.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank LoveThePlanetFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a group touring holiday. Wish we were there for longer. Staff friendly. Stayed in the tree lodges on stilts with Impala roaming underneath. Food good and lots of it. Served in a dining area overlooking crocodiles and Weaver birds busily building their nests in the Fever Trees.Good buffet selections at breakfast lunch and dinner plus afternoon tea before departing on game drives. Antelope, giraffe, zebra and buffalo in Ubizane reserve itself. Short drive to Hluhluwe Umfolozi Game Reserve where we were lucky enough to see lions, elephants, buffalo, rhino, zebra and giraffe. Wonderful guide who was both informative and entertaining. Weather changed (wind and rain) on our return later in the day for another game drive and this time the animals were more elusive, proving you need luck on your side. Only negatives were no safe or hairdryer in the rooms. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titchsue77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews