We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superlative”
Review of Essenwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Essenwood House
Ranked #5 of 268 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2013

It's unfortunate I've taken so long in reviewing the Essenwood House, as it is an absolute wonder in Durban, but better late than never, right? I traveled to Durban at the end of a trip through Southern Africa with my wife, and my only regret is that I didn't stay longer in Durban to spend more time at the Essenwood House - it's that good.

Pros:
- Location - perfectly situated in Berea, it's easy to get anywhere you want in Durban, in or out of town.
- Stunning colonial architecture with pastel colors and impeccably clean.
- Huge bedroom with balcony and a bathroom bigger than some other bedrooms I stayed on my trip.
- Yes, you've read it before, it bears repeating - phenomenal breakfast. Made to order, whatever you want, they'll get you. Private, beautiful, an experience by itself.
- *Real* coffee in a french press - I'd just about given up hope that it existed in the lower half of the entire continent.
- The bathroom is monstrous (yeah, I'm repeating that), with a double sink vanity, bidet, full-size tub and extra-large shower stall.
- Free wifi internet; really, you just ask John for the password and it works!
- Owners that really care about who is staying with them, even if only for a night. Everything about the Essenwood was fantastic, but the service was what I regret not getting to experience more of the most.
- Pillow chocolates!
- Adorable pups running around, very well behaved and friendly!
- Gorgeous grounds and a view of the Indian Ocean past downtown Durban
- Meticulous gardens and plantings and a large refreshing pool in an oasis from the hustle and bustle of Durban.

Cons:
- The towel warmer didn't work. That's really all I could find.

As I've said already, Essenwod House is definitely top tier in my book in places I've stayed at. There's no other choice when in Durban - I'd go so far as to say I'd reorganize my trip dates to make sure there was availability at the Essenwood when I go back. If you're in Durban - do yourself a favor and stay at the Essenwood House

Thanks for reading my review - if you have any questions at all, don't hesitate to reach out!

Jon

Room Tip: Upstairs, with the balcony overlooking the pool and Inidan Ocean (just ask for it when booking)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JB24003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Just read yuor reallyf antastic review! So kind for everything you said and we are so glad that you enjoyed the stay with us. So sorry about the towel rail, I could have swtiched it on for you, we swuitch it off to save the excorbitant electricity charges in S.A.!!
Hope to see you again, Best wishes,
John and paddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

Warm service, lovely ambience and great location. We had a relaxing family holiday and will definitely be back. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool, the lush garden and the homely feel. Embodies durban's relaxed and warm vibe!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Thank you io much for yor very kind review, which is much appreciated. It makes everything so worth while when we hear from guests who have enjoyed their stay with us and of course we enjoy having you here! I hope the rest of your trip was successful and you arrived home safely, With best wishes,
John Chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We spent 4 nights in two suites in this perfectly located bed and breakfast in a wonderful Victorian House, and hope we can do the same in the future! The glorious honeymoon suite on the upper floor has a view from its large wooden deck over Durban to the sea beyond, and one of our party had an equally splendid suite below us on the ground floor, opening onto a spacious verandah leading directly onto manicured green lawns and a sparkling blue swimming pool. Both rooms had air-conditioning units, very high ceilings, and incredibly large en-suite bathrooms, and the king size bed in the former, as well as the twin beds in the latter, were complemented by very generous cupboard space, bar-fridges, full coffee and tea facilities, lovely tables, armchairs, thoughtful additional accessories, all making for a truly comfortable and tastefully decorated environment. The rooms were serviced each day. The breakfast was delightful. Fruit, cereals, freshly-baked croissants, bottomless tea and coffee and juices were the precursors to expertly cooked full English breakfasts made to order. The staff were utterly professional, pleasant, and helpful. The highlight was the quite astounding care and friendly attention of John and Paddy, the owners, who care so much and deliver more than one would expect. I can't imagine looking for anywhere else to stay in Durban on a short visit. Within easy reach are the city and the main roads to both north and south coasts and the local shopping centre is three minutes away by car. Pre-booking, arrival, and settling-in were smooth and expertly handled, and there were no surprises on the bill, which was equally efficiently processed. This is most highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian220451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind remarks. We really enjoyed having you to stay , it is always a pleasure when our guests leave with happy memories and of course we hope to see you here again., With best wishes,
John and Paddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This is our 2nd stay at this beautiful guest house. The property is located at the top of the Berea has a lovely garden with pool and a view of the city and Indian Ocean in the distance. Our room was extremely large with a very comfortable king size bed, and plenty of closet space, and of course had an en-suite bathroom. Little extra touches make this a special place to stay. Coffee and tea available in room, with cookies and fresh fruit supplied daily. A wonderful large hot cooked breakfast was included so that we often only needed a snack for lunch. The property is secure and we felt very safe staying there. However it's best to have your own car to get around.

Room Tip: Upstairs front room with king-size bed has its own large balcony and great view. All rooms are quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janloism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Thank you so much for toor very kind review. It is always good to have our guests make return visits and it was great to see yuo again and that everythig went of O.K./
I hope that you got home safely to a very cold Canada, lovely summer weather here now after al the rain, Hope to see you again.
Bst wishes
from John and paddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed in Essenwood House for one night on our way to the wild coast, I just wish we could have stayed another night! The owners gave us a lovely welcome and were really helpful and informative. The rooms were massive, with equally massive bathrooms, all presented beautifully. The views of the city and ocean from the balconies were wonderful, along with the garden and swimming pool. The food and service at breakfast couldn't be faulted. Would strongly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

What a very kind review, so much appreciated to have geusts who have enjoyed their stay woith us, it makes it all worth going the extra mile!
Hope you got home safely and of course that we might see you again,
With best wishes
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
3.1 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 45 in Durban
1,573 reviews
3.9 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#35 of 45 in Durban
106 reviews
1.4 km away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Garden Court South Beach
1.9 km away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
23.7 km away
Valley Lodge
Valley Lodge
#6 of 268 in Durban
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essenwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essenwood House

Address: 630 Stephen Dlamini Road | Berea, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 268 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: €51 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Essenwood House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essenwood House offers both the corporate or leisure guest all the comforts of a magnificent Edwardian private home in true 5 star affordable accommodation. Set in a tropical garden, peace and quiet yet minutes away from the city centre of Durban, shopping malls, restaurants, Durban Convention centre and the well-known Durban beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Essenwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing