We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$166
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$136
US$115
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 23/07
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$146
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$167
US$156
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
218
42
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
42
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge bathroomlovely hostscomfortable accommodationvery pleasant stayhome away from homeyogurtpaddybereamosquitoesvenue
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Warm service, lovely ambience and great location. We had a relaxing family holiday and will definitely be back. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool, the lush garden and the homely feel. Embodies durban's relaxed and warm vibe!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Thank you io much for yor very kind review, which is much appreciated. It makes everything so worth while when we hear from guests who have enjoyed their stay with us and of course we enjoy having you here! I hope the rest of your trip was successful and you arrived home safely, With best wishes,
John Chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We spent 4 nights in two suites in this perfectly located bed and breakfast in a wonderful Victorian House, and hope we can do the same in the future! The glorious honeymoon suite on the upper floor has a view from its large wooden deck over Durban to the sea beyond, and one of our party had an equally splendid suite below us on the ground floor, opening onto a spacious verandah leading directly onto manicured green lawns and a sparkling blue swimming pool. Both rooms had air-conditioning units, very high ceilings, and incredibly large en-suite bathrooms, and the king size bed in the former, as well as the twin beds in the latter, were complemented by very generous cupboard space, bar-fridges, full coffee and tea facilities, lovely tables, armchairs, thoughtful additional accessories, all making for a truly comfortable and tastefully decorated environment. The rooms were serviced each day. The breakfast was delightful. Fruit, cereals, freshly-baked croissants, bottomless tea and coffee and juices were the precursors to expertly cooked full English breakfasts made to order. The staff were utterly professional, pleasant, and helpful. The highlight was the quite astounding care and friendly attention of John and Paddy, the owners, who care so much and deliver more than one would expect. I can't imagine looking for anywhere else to stay in Durban on a short visit. Within easy reach are the city and the main roads to both north and south coasts and the local shopping centre is three minutes away by car. Pre-booking, arrival, and settling-in were smooth and expertly handled, and there were no surprises on the bill, which was equally efficiently processed. This is most highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian220451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind remarks. We really enjoyed having you to stay , it is always a pleasure when our guests leave with happy memories and of course we hope to see you here again., With best wishes,
John and Paddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This is our 2nd stay at this beautiful guest house. The property is located at the top of the Berea has a lovely garden with pool and a view of the city and Indian Ocean in the distance. Our room was extremely large with a very comfortable king size bed, and plenty of closet space, and of course had an en-suite bathroom. Little extra touches make this a special place to stay. Coffee and tea available in room, with cookies and fresh fruit supplied daily. A wonderful large hot cooked breakfast was included so that we often only needed a snack for lunch. The property is secure and we felt very safe staying there. However it's best to have your own car to get around.

Room Tip: Upstairs front room with king-size bed has its own large balcony and great view. All rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janloism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Thank you so much for toor very kind review. It is always good to have our guests make return visits and it was great to see yuo again and that everythig went of O.K./
I hope that you got home safely to a very cold Canada, lovely summer weather here now after al the rain, Hope to see you again.
Bst wishes
from John and paddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed in Essenwood House for one night on our way to the wild coast, I just wish we could have stayed another night! The owners gave us a lovely welcome and were really helpful and informative. The rooms were massive, with equally massive bathrooms, all presented beautifully. The views of the city and ocean from the balconies were wonderful, along with the garden and swimming pool. The food and service at breakfast couldn't be faulted. Would strongly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

What a very kind review, so much appreciated to have geusts who have enjoyed their stay woith us, it makes it all worth going the extra mile!
Hope you got home safely and of course that we might see you again,
With best wishes
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Loved our stay here, such a quintessential old Durban house, reminded me of my youth growing up in Durban. If you are looking for a real Durban experience, go no further. Location was great for us as we were visiting family near by.

The room was excellent, large and clean. Great mini bar in the room and huge bathroom. Very nice breakfast in the morning, and our hosts were really nice and could not do enough for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaribTraveler3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

It is always very heartening to receive reviews from our guests who have enjoyed their stay with us and this was no exception. Always also good to have people coming back to the "old town" again having left our shores!
We do hope that you will come back again and will try again to make your stay memorable!
Best wishes,
John chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews