We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$151
US$127
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$71
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$54/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$169
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$147
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$98
US$95
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$164
US$156
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
45
8
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
8
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfeel at homethe extra milewalking distance from the beachpleasant stayself cateringlapakznamenities
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Akanan guest house is perfectly positioned just 600 meters from The Ocean Beach. They offer the best service, fantastic breakfast, clean and beautiful furnished rooms. Perfect alternative to luxery hotel. Like a home away from home. Akanan is a Happy home and Im certain you will enjoy a stay.

Room Tip: Take a Room with a view to the ocean!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at Akanan Guest House since the 6 of August 2014 till the 22nd
of August 2014. I agree with Michelle L, this is a home away from home. I received a warm welcome and felt relaxed and comfortable from the start. The facilities are spotless, the food excellent and the service exceptional. Easy accessible to major roads, amenities and walking distance from the beach. Situated in a tranquil residential neighborhood. I will strongly recommend Akanan as undoubtedly your first choice destination when travelling to the East-Coast. Thanks to Douw and Annemarie Steyn for making Akanan not just another guesthouse, but a retreat. Nardo Van Niekerk

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank NardoVanNiekerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed here a few days ago and will be returning here tonight. Although my travel purpose is business you cant help but feel your in a warm family holiday environment.
The owners are a very friendly, welcoming and interesting couple who are there for you should you need them 24/7.
If it is business or a holiday you need I would strongly recommend Akanan Guest House as it also in a very safe, nice part of the city. Lee h...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeh1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our family stayed here for a almost a week and had the most enjoyable stay. Located close to all major amenities (5-15mins drive between each) it was such a joy to come "home" to Akanan. Very clean, quiet and peaceful atmosphere. We stayed in the luxury room that has the balcony which has seaside view - wonderful to wake up to that everyday.

Room Tip: Luxury room has a views of the sea....from a distance
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We visited Akanan Guest with my girlfriend for 3 nights in October 2013. I can say only one word - Perfect! We stayed in garden house with 1 bedroom, kitchen and terrace. Also pool was available in front of house. All was clean, staff was very polite.
And last but not least - reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews