We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service & value”
Review of Akanan Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akanan Guest House
Ranked #24 of 258 Durban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Akanan guest house is perfectly positioned just 600 meters from The Ocean Beach. They offer the best service, fantastic breakfast, clean and beautiful furnished rooms. Perfect alternative to luxery hotel. Like a home away from home. Akanan is a Happy home and Im certain you will enjoy a stay.

Room Tip: Take a Room with a view to the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at Akanan Guest House since the 6 of August 2014 till the 22nd
of August 2014. I agree with Michelle L, this is a home away from home. I received a warm welcome and felt relaxed and comfortable from the start. The facilities are spotless, the food excellent and the service exceptional. Easy accessible to major roads, amenities and walking distance from the beach. Situated in a tranquil residential neighborhood. I will strongly recommend Akanan as undoubtedly your first choice destination when travelling to the East-Coast. Thanks to Douw and Annemarie Steyn for making Akanan not just another guesthouse, but a retreat. Nardo Van Niekerk

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank NardoVanNiekerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed here a few days ago and will be returning here tonight. Although my travel purpose is business you cant help but feel your in a warm family holiday environment.
The owners are a very friendly, welcoming and interesting couple who are there for you should you need them 24/7.
If it is business or a holiday you need I would strongly recommend Akanan Guest House as it also in a very safe, nice part of the city. Lee h...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeh1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our family stayed here for a almost a week and had the most enjoyable stay. Located close to all major amenities (5-15mins drive between each) it was such a joy to come "home" to Akanan. Very clean, quiet and peaceful atmosphere. We stayed in the luxury room that has the balcony which has seaside view - wonderful to wake up to that everyday.

Room Tip: Luxury room has a views of the sea....from a distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We visited Akanan Guest with my girlfriend for 3 nights in October 2013. I can say only one word - Perfect! We stayed in garden house with 1 bedroom, kitchen and terrace. Also pool was available in front of house. All was clean, staff was very polite.
And last but not least - reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
9.4 km away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
1.6 km away
Khanya Kude
Khanya Kude
#13 of 258 in Durban
53 reviews
4 km away
AHA Auberge Hollandaise Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Westville Bed & Breakfast
Westville Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 26 in Westville
255 reviews
9.3 km away
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
3.6 km away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#12 of 258 in Durban
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akanan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akanan Guest House

Address: 11 Aubrey Drive | Glen Ashley, Durban, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: €50 - €80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Akanan Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akanan Guest House is a stylish guest house in La Lucia; flanked by the Indian Ocean with Durban City and sports stadiums on the south and Gateway, Umhlanga and the airport on the north. We are very easy to find just off the M4 freeway between Durban and Umhlanga Rocks.The owners will be your hosts for the duration of your stay and be assured of our best service and warm hospitality at all times.The guest house holds a reputation for the finest cuisine and hospitality. Breakfast is generous, consisting of a buffet of Fresh Fruit salad, Fruit Juices, Cereals, Yoghurts, Cheeses, Cold Meats, Muffins, Breads, as well as a freshly cooked English-style breakfast.It is a dream destination for leisure travellers, business people and sport lovers.The house offers 4 luxury rooms and 1 self-catering unit. The rooms and the self-catering unit have expected luxuries and amenities. Each of these is tastefully decorated. An air-conditioner, ceiling fan, Commercial DSTV channels, cherry, complimentary coffee and tea station with biscuits, microwave oven, limited cutlery and crockery, bar fridge, hair dryer and safe is standard in each room.The one self-catering unit offers a fully equipped kitchen.The house offers an entertainment area with a bar and pool table and board games. A comfortable lounge to relax in is available. A swimming pool is available on the premises to cool down from the hot summer sun. Akanan offers services and facilities at a nominal fee: Laundry Service, Telephone & Fax Facility. Other Services provided at no cost are Wireless Internet Access, Secure Parking, and Arrangements for Shuttle Services, VIP / Tourist Protection and Day Tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Akanan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing