We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late lunch”
Review of El Toro

El Toro
Ranked #233 of 719 Restaurants in Durban
Description: Mexican Food Restaurant Tapas & Tequila Bar El Toro offers tapas and Latino cuisine that encourages the festive sharing of food to allow for a fun fiesta. It fuses old-school Mexican and Spanish classics with some modern twists to spice up the menu. El Toro is vibrant and fun. The décor is tastefully bold, with lots of colour and prints. If you are hungry, their paellas will take care of that but there is lots more on the menu. They cook with whole natural spices and lots of chillies so some dishes are pretty hot. If you are ever in doubt, have another tequila!
Restaurant details
Description: Mexican Food Restaurant Tapas & Tequila Bar El Toro offers tapas and Latino cuisine that encourages the festive sharing of food to allow for a fun fiesta. It fuses old-school Mexican and Spanish classics with some modern twists to spice up the menu. El Toro is vibrant and fun. The décor is tastefully bold, with lots of colour and prints. If you are hungry, their paellas will take care of that but there is lots more on the menu. They cook with whole natural spices and lots of chillies so some dishes are pretty hot. If you are ever in doubt, have another tequila!
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

I love mexican food and decided to try it out. Food was tasty and although I was not too excited abt mine, my husband enjoyed his and said he would go back. Most of the people there were enjoying some awesome looking cocktails. We did not go down that path.

Thank Elvia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHaze33, Public Relations Manager at El Toro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

We love everything Mexican too! From our taco's to our tequilas, and of course, our eye catching cocktails. Bring your husband along and pop back in to try something from our new updated menu.. we promise we won't leave you disappointed! We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend the nachos and mexi corn balls (can't remember the name). Presentation of food is amazing and staff were lovely!
It goes without saying that you should have a margarita: traditional or jalapeño!

Thank Priyal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHaze33, Public Relations Manager at El Toro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Those are our tasty Mexican Golf Balls Priyal. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed them. The Nacho's are right up top on the favorites list for us too. Along with our Taco's and Tequilas of course!! :) If you enjoyed the Jalapeno Margarita, try our Chilli Gin cocktail next time you pop in to El Toro - everyone is loving them. We look forward to seeing you at El Toro again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

The restaurant offers a wide range of cocktails and a comprehensive food menu. The food was tasty, not the cheapest around however. Unfortunately the service was incredibly slow, took over 20 mins to get our first drinks. Our table of 6 was seated outside at 2 round tables put together- we had booked in advance. Luckily we were able to move before we got our food otherwise it would have been a very uncomfortable eating experience. Overall a nice place to eat, hopefully our slow service experience was a one off.

Thank LaraJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissHaze33, Public Relations Manager at El Toro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food and cocktails at El Toro, but do apologise for the delay in service to your table. It doesn't happen all that often, but there will be days when unexpected issues may arise and cause a little slack.
Customers would usually book inside for sit down meals, rather than sitting at the tall tables to socialise out on the decked area. So we're happy that you were able to easily rearrange to be seated inside.
We've recently had booths installed inside the restaurant for a more comfortable and intimate sitting. Come check them out when you're in the area, along with our new menu we've launched this year. We look forward to seeing you again soon at El Toro!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Busy when we were there – they had a party booked so we did not get the best seating – the Nacho starter with pulled pork was very good – the seafood paella a little one dimensional but with plenty of seafood including crab and it was very tasty – so far so good but the liquor prices were over the top – as there was no draft Heineken we opted for the Naked Mexican craft beer which was nothing special at R45 a pint – the atmosphere was great - we will go back but stick to the local commercial beers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GDay1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

First off, let me say that 98% of my reviews are positive. We go out often and we enjoy food. We came here super keen for Mexican food. MISTAKE... there are no Mexicans in Durban. The drinks were great but the food was OK.... the worst part was the next day. All 4 of us were violently ill for 7 days (yes, 7 days... ) and it was for sure from those Tacos and nachos. Never. Again. I'm traumatized.

2  Thank dreiasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Toro also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to El Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing