We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
131
96
21
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
96
21
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel florida road safe street restaurants and bars small pool small hotel very comfortable room good nights sleep light sleeper stayed for one night fresh fruit would definitely stay here again central location noise morningside safety
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay with old world charm, you need to be able to climb stairs to the rooms.
Ours had a shared balcony with plenty of space for cases ect.
It was lovely to be offered complementary drinks before going out for dinner.
Help yourself from the small bar and fridge.
It was good to be able to walk down the street safely and choose your restaurant. Some of the group went to a steak restaurant and we went to a seafood one which was excellent. Food and service really good
Would stay at The Benjamin again

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Bluemargt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunetGM, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Good Day

Thank-you for your kind review of our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed all the offerings and that Florida Road provided ample options for you to choose from.
We also offer ground floor rooms should you prefer that in the future. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

Very nice place for a short stay.
Lovely touch is a self help bar with a wide range of drinks.
Rooms were not the biggest but comfortable.
Food on offer was very good.
Generally, highly recommended hotel with lovely staff.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank monicar382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

My stay at the Benjamin was by all accounts a really good choice. Service from check-in to check-out was excellent. The self help bar was a lovely touch to enjoy pre-dinner drinks. Most definitely will be recommending it to fellow travelers.!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank C0lst0n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunetGM, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Good Day
Thank-you for taking the time to review us! We really appreciate it and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Although rooms could do with some updating this is a delightful boutique hotel. Lovely pool area and breakfast area. Lounge room and lobby charming. Friendly staff. Our room faced a street and unfortunately was very noisy throughout the night. About 3 km from city centre. Walking distance to some really good restaurants. Free wi fi. Would recommend.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank julphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunetGM, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Good Day
Thank-you for your kind review. We hope to see you back soon, please ask for a room facing the pool next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Nice location, breakfast was fantastic, Michelle is very accommodating. The other staff members are personable and very helpful as well. Clean rooms, no noise in the back. Food choices on Florida are outstanding. Very secure, free happy hour. No refrigerator in the room if important. Wonderful six nights in SA. Nice pool. Much better location than beach areas.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunetGM, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Good Day

Thank-you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I couldn't agree more, Michelle is a gem. We hope to see you back soon on your next visit to SA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews