We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Local Grill”
Review of Chaplin's Grill

Chaplin's Grill
Ranked #10 of 461 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$18
Cuisines: Steakhouse, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Chaplin’s found its roots in Melville since 1980 and Rainold Petersen who moved to Hurlingham in 2012, changed the name to Chaplin’s Grill in tribute to his legendary Melville-based bistro – a gem amidst the fine dining establishments of Joburg in the 80′ & 90′s. At Chaplin’s Grill Rainold revives, within a contemporary dining context, his passion for delivering a superior product of Food, Wine, Beer and exemplary service with a trademark hands-on approach.
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We love Chaplin's Grill for their friendly service, excellent quality meat and tasty wine-list. Our family is always made to feel welcome and my twins insist on going to Chaplins for the Meat Platter. A big plus is the owner is present and visible at the restaurant and makes a huge effort in ensuring all patrons have a great experience. We are so glad to have a gem like Chaplins in our neighbourhood.

Thank moorgas_adrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainold P, Owner at Chaplin's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Hi Adrian, thanks for your comments. Will pass onto staff. See you soon.
Regards Rainold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Four of us popped in for dinner. Restaurant and decor memorably but the steaks certainly are. We sat on the terrace outside, no view as such. We chose the grand platter of mixed starters, then 2 of us had the aged Wing Rib, one had rib eye and one the fillet. All excellent with a range of sides and sauces like bernaise and chimichurri and salads. We had an excellent bottle of Thelema Merlot from Stellenbosch. We finished with a couple of creme brûlée, a chocolate fondant and brownie. Service excellent ... all it needs is a better view and some decor!

Thank Angus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainold P, Owner at Chaplin's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Thank you for great comments, will pass onto staff and we will look into the view and decor upgrade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

We went tonight to celebrate a small intimate bday party and Chaplin’s was perfect!
Attentive and FAST service- Great meat (I had sirloin while my party went for the fillets) Fabulous homemade sauces with the special mention of the béarnaise... fries and dessert! Everything under 1h
perfection

Thank benedictebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainold P, Owner at Chaplin's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Thanks for your comments. See you soon for next enjoyment.
Regards
Rainold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

I must say I was a biy apprehensive, but I needn't have worried. The steak was top drawer, tasty and grilled to my request. The clincher was the creme brulee. They can make one. Creamy and the sugar crunchy. No fear of egg taste or broken teeth. Man it was nice. Ambience was not out of this world but one can overlook it with the food on offer. They have great wines too, if you love good wine. All in all a great place to get good food. Prices are not over the top but not cheap either. A good steak with 1 side could set you back R220 or so. But still worth it.

Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainold P, Owner at Chaplin's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

HI Johan,
it took a while to respond. Thank you for your comments. Steak, dessert and wine you enjoyed.
Regards Rainold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Whenever we visit Johannesburg from the UK we always make a visit to Chaplin's
The steaks are consistently fantastic, as are all the side dishes.
Once again, after 2 weeks in SA, where the food is always of a very high standard everywhere, we had our best meal of the trip at Chaplins.
The fillet is so tender and prepared perfectly. Even my wife who’s not really a steak lover always has a fillet here.
The location may not be the most trendy, tbh it seems to be in an odscure strip mall but we come here solely for the food. Service is perfectly fine and the last couple of visits the owner has stopped by our table to make sure everything is perfect.
For us it’s also amazing value and topped off with an extensive wine list it should be a must visit for anyone in the area who loves good food, especially steaks.

Thank 34769pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainold P, Owner at Chaplin's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Hi Pete,
Thanks for your comments. See you next time.
Regards Rainold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chaplin's Grill also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Chaplin's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing