We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”
Review of Signature

Signature
Ranked #6 of 495 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

The golden moments loving it. It was my first time being treated to a caviar I really enjoyed it... I just love sea food

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Tyani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

We were in Johannesburg for a weekend, and were looking specifically for a restaurant that could provide us with an amazing shellfish platter, accompanied by a great bottle of wine.

My spouse suggested Signature, as we've dined there before. It was very good a few years ago, and were not disappointed this time. They have retained their magic service formula and the offerings from the kitchen are as good as ever.

To start, we sampled the sushi, and then went onto their shellfish platter - comprising lobster, calamari, fish and langoustines. We followed that with their chocolate souffle for dessert.

Service at Signature is exemplary. What is noticeable is how the entire team rallied around us to ensure we were happy - clearing our plates, topping up wine, etc. Of course, our server was always to hand as well, and made sure we had a great experience.

The wine list at Signature is renowned. From experience, however, we rather select an option from the menu as opposed to the proposal from the sommelier. (That avoids surprises on the bill.)

Finally, Signature provides their diners with live music. On our evening, it was light jazz which complemented our dining experience beautifully.

As you can expect dining at Signature is not cheap (especially in local currency). It's a lovely treat, however, and always on the top of our list when visiting.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GrantH398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Seems like a very popular restaurant. Not ideal for talking once the band gets going.

The prawn salad was passable. The salmon and prawn risotto - well if you like rice pudding as a main course with a few strips of salmon and and a few prawns look no further.

They allow smoking in the bar.

The service was polite but slow

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AfricaBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Since it opened up to now the service and food quality alike have been top notch. Even though when I was there were groups of people celebrating some occasions, they were not obnoxious which is great. The service standard is commendable and the ambiance is also always consistently good.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bonolom110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

One of our favorite fine dining restaurants in Johannesburg. The impeccable decor, friendly service and delicious food make a night out at Signature a memorable experience. The “live music” sets the perfect tone and ambience for a superb establishment.

Check out the cool bar for pre-dinner drinks.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank moorgas_adrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Signature also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Signature? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing